One Month Old

Dearest darling daughter,

You turn one month old tomorrow, and what better occasion than this to write my very first letter to you?

I must tell you that every single day of this month, we have fallen more and more in love with you, your Dad and I. You are such a vivacious bundle of activity even at one month of age, and we can’t help but adore you. You are the first thing we want to see every morning and the last thing before we go to sleep every night. We love kissing you good morning and good night. We love observing you and your antics, which are a-plenty.

My little doll, I love dressing you up, and do it at least twice every day. I love how your Dad, while at work, wants to know what you are wearing every day after your bath in the afternoon. I usually send him a picture of you, all dolled up after your bath and blissfully sleeping away, on Whatsapp, so that he doesn’t miss you too much. I love how his face lights up on seeing you dolled up all over again, every evening when he returns from work.

You are the light of our lives, darling. You have your parents wound around your little finger. We want all the very, very best for you, like every parent wishes for their child. Some wise person once said that having a child is like having your heart walk outside your body for ever, and I think both of us now realise what that means. We pray for you all the time.

Tomorrow is when we have organised a naming ceremony for you, when we will be officially ‘giving’ you the name that we have chosen for you. This name is special to us for more reasons than one, one reason being that it was the name your Amma was going to be given before the decision was changed and she was named something else. And that reminds me, I am so not used to being called ‘Amma’ – I can’t wait for you to call me that!

This is going to be your very first party, if you can call it that. I hope you will be awake for at least part of it. I hope you will love your name and the significance behind it. I hope you will grow to love your parents as they love you. I hope you will move mountains when you grow up.

Little doll, here’s wishing you all the very best in life.

Loads of love,

Amma

16 thoughts on “One Month Old

Leave a Reply

