The First Look

The first time we viewed Bubboo’s face, in utero, was in my fifth-month scan. The radiologist showed us how the baby had lips and tiny toes and fingers and even a heart and kidneys and a spinal cord. That was the first time, I think, that someone referred to Bubboo as a ‘baby’ and not as a ‘foetus’. Yes, we realised then, there was very much a ‘baby’ in my tummy now, with its own set of organs, past the first trimester, past the stage of being a ‘foetus’.

The scan made us feel, for the first time, that the baby would be a boy. Somehow, the zoomed-in face of the child that the radiologist showed us looked like that of a little boy. And so I felt till the seventh month, when I suddenly started having a feeling that the baby might be a girl. A girl it turned out to be too, finally. šŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “The First Look

  1. I’ve been loving all your updates since the time I read the post introducing Bubboo. I haven’t officially congratulated you yet. Neither have I been commenting. My bad.

    So here we go! Hearty Congratulations. Babies are precious šŸ™‚ And I love all that you have to say about your little one. Please keep writing (about her). They’re my fav posts of the lot.

    Like

    1. @Smitha

      Yes, you told me that, Smitha. Thank you! I’m glad you are enjoying reading the posts. šŸ™‚

      The OH used to tease me too, about the identity crisis issue. Till the seventh month, I used to refer to the baby as a ‘he’, and he used to tell me that if I had a girl, she would hit me after birth. šŸ˜›

      Like

  2. I don’t remember seeing such a clear scan of daughter’s. And for some reason, I used to refer to her as ‘her’ right from the beginning. Husband used to joke that the baby will have identity issues if it were a bit, after being called a girl for nine months šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I would need a little help here.. how to interpret this scan?! I am feeling like Rachel from Friends who says she can see the baby in the scan picture but cant šŸ˜€

    I am loving this series of posts from you TNGD šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

