The Bookish Musings Tag

I have been tagged by Maya and Freaky Veggie to write about books.

Here are the rules of the meme:

1. List your 12 favorite books.
2. List seven wonders about yourself and your reading.
3. Tag eight other bloggers.

** ** **

So, here go my 12 favourite books, in no particular order:

1. The Bridges Of Madison County – Robert James Waller

I love, love, love this book. I have said enough about it on my blog, so I am not going to say anything more now.

2. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

It is a beautifully written book, about the human side of a war-ravaged country. What is not to love?

3. 84, Charing Cross Road – Helene Hanff

Great story, very much real-life, told all through letters. And it is all about books and writing.

4. Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

A lovely read about a very sensitive subject. A book with a soul that stayed with me a long, long time after I finished reading it.

5. The End Of Your Life Book Club – Will Schwalbe

Though the editing of the book was a bit clumsy, it made for a wonderful read all right. I was fascinated by the author’s mother, by her zest for life, and by her little book club with her son.

6. A Year In The World – Frances Mayes

An inspiring saga of the author’s journey to different places in the world, for a whole year. Beautiful writing.

7. A Homemade Life – Molly Wizenberg

The author’s memoir about the kind of food that she grew up with and the foods that she remembers eating during the important phases of her life, with the important people in her life. Lovely writing that made me reflect on my own life and the foods associated with me as well.

8. A Thousand Days In Venice – Marlena de Blasi

A beautifully written memoir of the thousand beautiful days that the author spent with her new husband in Venice. The language is sheer poetry, and the book is a pleasure to read.

9. The Girl Next Door – Elizabeth Noble

I loved the story. I loved the characters, especially that of Violet. I could relate to a lot of the book. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

10. Manual Of The Warrior Of Light – Paulo Coelho

I read this a long, long time ago, and it left a deep impression on me then. I remember it had some precious nuggets of advice which were of use to me in sorting out the complexities in my life then.

11. Notes From A Small Room – Ruskin Bond

A book with a soul. A sensitive rendering of the little things in the author’s life, that make a big difference to him. Beautiful read that will make you stop and take notice of the world around you.

12. Q’s Legacy – Helene Hanff

An inspiring account of how the author learnt to write, in spite of the odds against her. Lovely read.

** ** **

Seven ‘wonders about my reading and me’. Here goes:

1. I am an avid book reader, who needs something to read all the time. Well, most of the time. Judging by the number of books I read, it is not easy to make out that I have huge gaps in my reading. I started reading quite late in life, after a childhood stint with books. As a result, I haven’t read any classics. I haven’t read many of the bestsellers, the books that almost everyone has read – Vikram Seth, Ludlum, Grisham, Anita Nair and so on. I read what I can get my hands on and what my mood dictates at the moment.

2. I am as comfortable reading paper books as I am reading books on my Kindle.

3. I think I have, slowly and gradually, evolved as a reader. I think I will continue to do so in the times to come. There are many, many genres out there, many authors out there, that I want to explore over time.

4. I want my child/children to read. I really, really wish they would.

5. I am not big on re-reading. In fact, I don’t think I have ever re-read any book in my life so far. There’s so much to read, I am constantly devouring something new.

6. I have realised that I cannot read everything there is to read in the world, however hard I try. I have also realised that I cannot retain all the books that I read in my lifetime. These realisations have helped me buy books more sensibly and curb book-hoarding tendencies.

7. I am not very comfortable with the reading of borrowed books, unless it is for an unlimited period of time. I need to be in the right frame of mind to read a particular book, which is why library memberships don’t work out for me. The same is the case with books borrowed from friends.

** ** **

As for Rule #3, most of the bloggers I read have already been tagged.Β  So, I don’t want to tag anyone in particular. If you want to take up theΒ  tag and haven’t been nominated so far, please consider yourself tagged!

** ** **

This was fun to write! Thank you for passing on the meme, ladies! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “The Bookish Musings Tag

  1. It is fitting that you read #9. I have only read a couple of the books on your list (namely, #1 and #2), but I am currently reading #4. It is quite good so far. I was surprised to learn that you haven’t reread any books. Very interesting meme! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for taking up this tag, TGND! Now, I have a book list for the next one year ready. Based on Smitha and your reviews, I’d ordered The End of the Year Book Club and it is on the way! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

