Just Read

Busy Woman Seeks Wife – Annie Sanders

This was such a fun read! I read The X-Mas Factor by Annie Sanders some time back, and enjoyed it a whole lot. This book was the same – I loved reading it.

Alex is a super-duper ambitious, independent career girl, who is always extremely busy in her job as a sportswear marketing executive. She doesn’t have the time – nor the inclination – to be at home and to get going with her household chores. When her maid Manuela leaves her in a fix, Alex is left with no option but to start looking for a responsible person to take care of her house, all over again. Her mother, an eccentric 60s film star, meets with an accident and needs to be cared for at home, making the task of finding a housekeeper top priority for Alex. Her friend Saffron suggests that what Alex really needs is a ‘housewife’, and Alex agrees. So, an ad is placed in the local newspaper for a ‘wife for a busy woman’.

Chirpy, naughty Ella doesn’t know the A, B, C of housework, but Alex’s ad seems too good to pass on. She persuades her brother Frankie, a resting actor, to apply for the job. After all, he is sure to get chosen, with his wonderful cooking and baking skills and his penchant for cleanliness in the home. But will Alex like Frankie? Will she be alright with a man cleaning up her bedroom and washing her undergarments? Does Frankie have it in him to play the ‘wife’? You get the answers to all of these questions, and more, as the book progresses.

Busy Woman Seeks Wife is chick-lit, yes, with many unrealistic situations in the plot. That said, the characters are extremely realistic and believable. The book moves fast, and you get hooked to it, not wanting to put it down. It is funny and entertaining, and will keep you interested throughout. There is romance in the book, but very sweetly portrayed. There are no sleazy scenes or obscene language, as commonly found in chick-lit books, and which are huge put-offs for me. I found that the same was the case with The X-Mas Factor as well.

I liked how the author has conveyed the fact that it is not necessary for a woman to like housework, and for a man to be comfortable with it. I loved the fact that Alex was snug in her skin in spite of having no interest in or time for household chores. She isn’t expected to take time off from work and care for her house and bed-ridden mother, just because she is a woman. In that sense, the storyline or the characters are not dumbed down, which I loved.

Would I recommend it? Yes, if you are looking for a fun story, but do not mind a bit of unreal-ness in it.

One Hundred Ways For A Dog To Train Its Human – Simon Whaley

I ordered this book on Kindle as soon as I found out about it on Goodreads. I had a feeling I would love it, and I wasn’t wrong.

One Hundred Ways For A Dog To Train Its Human is a tongue-in-cheek rendering of 100 ways in which dogs trouble and confound humans, through their interactions with them. It is super cute and funny, and will definitely put a smile on anyone’s face. The line drawings in the book are great, too. It is a book that you should pick up whenever you are feeling down and need a bit of cheering up. This is especially so if you own a dog or, like me, love them.

I have always wanted a dog at home, but have never gotten one due to several personal reasons. This book made me realise what having a dog at home actually entails – the not-so-fun part of it. That too has been depicted by the author in a hilarious way.

I had one grouse with the book, though – it ended before I could even realise that I was getting into it. I started reading the book as soon as I had downloaded it and, within half an hour, I was 80% done with it.Β  In the next 10 minutes, the book was finished and shelved in the ‘Read’ section. I felt cheated in that sense. I would have loved for the book to have been a bit more fuller, maybe with some doggie anecdotes?

All said and done, the book is indeed lovely. It is not a must-read or anything, but a fun read for sure. Recommended? Yes.

Have you read either/both of these books? What are your thoughts about them?

8 thoughts on “Just Read

  1. Both these books sound just so fun! I’m reading ‘The End of Life Book Club’ finally:) Thanks loads again πŸ™‚ I am still do that post on chicklits I’ve enjoyed. I’ve been crazy busy, and all my posts are typed on the phone. One of these days, I will sit at the laptop and do a proper post πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Freakyveggie

      I DON’T read SO MANY books! I read very less as compared to many others I have seen.. and as compared to the amount I would like to read. πŸ™‚

      I am totally jobless these days, so that helps too. πŸ˜›

      Like

Leave a Reply

