Just Read

I got lucky! I read three books lately, and all of them turned out lovely! πŸ™‚

Under The Duvet – Marian Keyes

Marian Keyes is best known for her ‘chick-lit’ novels, like Watermelon and Lucy Sullivan Is Getting Married. I never knew that she has also had quite a few articles published in a number of newspapers and magazines. So, when I came to know that this girl found a collection of her published works in Blossoms and loved it, I knew I had to give it a shot.

Honestly, I didn’t like the one book by Marian Keyes that I had read before (Watermelon) – it was way too dumb, in my humble opinion. I have a feeling I will feel the same about her other books, too, or about most of her other books. Under The Duvet, however, was different. It contains short pieces depicting a variety of experiences from the author’s real life, from her travels and her work to her husband and friends. Each piece is very well-written, concise but witty and humorous to the core.

I thoroughly enjoyed myself reading this book, which makes for a different sort of light read from her usual. Recommended? Yes.

Korma, Kheer & Kismet – Pamela Timms

Remember I told you guys, some time ago, that I was eager to read Pamela Timms’ Korma, Kheer & Kismet? Well, I went ahead and grabbed a copy. And, I wasn’t disappointed. Not at all. It turned out to be a beautiful, beautiful book.

Korma, Kheer & Kismet is all about the foodie heaven that the winding, narrow lanes of Old Delhi are. Now, I have visited Old Delhi only once or twice in my lifetime, and haven’t really explored it much. I have heard of all the gastronomical delights that decades-old establishments in Old Delhi churn out, but haven’t really had the chance to sample much of the fare. Pamela brings alive the world that the gullies of Old Delhi contain within them, particularly with reference to the glorious food therein. I could picture each of the places that she has mentioned, in my mind’s eye, and taste each confection that she has written about. The black-and-white pictures supporting some parts of her writing helped, of course.

Korma, Kheer & Kismet was such a delightful read for me that I dreaded the book coming to an end. I bookmarked a huge number of passages, and shared them with the husband and friends. I dreamed of visiting Delhi soon, and exploring the Old Delhi that Pamela Timms knows well and so dearly loves. I longed for the delicious treats – sweet and savoury – that she has recommended in the book. The author’s writing style is crisp and evocative, and I couldn’t help but be charmed.

This is, most definitely, a book that I would recommend. Especially if you are big-time foodie, like me.

Confessions Of A French Baker: Breadmaking Secrets, Tips, And Recipes – Peter Mayle

In A Year In Provence, Peter Mayle mentions buying heavenly bread from a bakery called Chez Auzet. The book went on to make the bakery quite famous, which led to several tourists landing there and inquiring about the art of breadmaking. The bakery owner, Gerard Auzet, requested Peter Mayle to put together a book containing more than just breadmaking recipes for these interested tourists – a book that would be much more than a recipe book. Gerard Auzet and Peter Mayle joined hands in this endeavour, and the outcome was Confessions Of A French Baker: Breadmaking Secrets, Tips, And Recipes.

This is an extremely short book, which begins before it ends. Recipes occupy a large part of the already little number of pages in this book, the rest of which are occupied by charming breadmaking secrets, legends, pictures and real-life accounts from Chez Auzet. In spite of the short length of the book, it was a lovely read. It takes the reader to Provence, and brings the world of Chez Auzet alive before his/her eyes. In fact, I rued the fact that the book was so short, and that it had to end almost before I had started getting into it. I would have liked more, for sure.

I would highly recommend this beautiful book, short or not. Ideally, read this after you read A Year In Provence, but it won’t really make a difference even if you haven’t read it.

What are you reading now?

12 thoughts on “Just Read

Leave a Reply

