Top 10 Book People I’d Love To Lunch With

This week’s topic on Top 10 Tuesday made me think quite a bit: Top 10 Book Characters I’d Love To Lunch With. It came as a surprise to me that a very few characters have really stuck with me, in all these years of reading books. It is these few characters I’d love to invite over to lunch. Other than that, I’d love to have over a few of my favourite authors, too. So, my list this time is a mix of book characters and authors.

Here goes…

1. Robert Kincaid from The Bridges Of Madison County

I ADORE Robert Kincaid. I fell in love with him while I read The Bridges Of Madison County. He is such a dreamy character, full of passion, full of life, with so much of love to give. And, oh, so much of wanderlust! And a photographer for National Geographic, to boot. What’s to not fall in love with?

If I do get around to having lunch with him, I’d love to listen to him talk about his myriad travels, the books he loves, his life in general, his work and, of course, about Francesca.

2. Violet from The Girl Next Door

The Girl Next Door is one of my favourite books by Elizabeth Noble, and Violet is one of my favourite characters from the book. She’s a character that I still remember vividly, even after four or so years of reading the book. I admire her for her love of life and her curiosity about the world. Hats off to her for making the most of her circumstances, and not giving up on her dreams in spite of the not-so-great life that was hers.

Over lunch, I’d love to talk to Violet about her life story, and where she got all that motivation from, from within her, to pick up the pieces of her life and run after what really mattered to her.

3. Gulzarji

Gulzarji stole my heart away at last year’s Bangalore Literature Festival! Such a humble person, such a wonderful way with words, such an eye for the little things in life – of course, I had to be awed by him.

I’d love to have him over for lunch some day, and listen to him wax eloquent about things little and big.

4. Rabindranath Tagore

I admire Rabindranath Tagore for much the same reasons as I love Gulzarji – his eye for the little things around him, his ability to convey a wealth of emotion in just a few words and for his many talents.

Like Gulzarji, I’d just have Tagore talk about anything under the sun, or over it. I am sure he would convert everything into sheer poetry.

5. Frances Mayes

If you have been reading my blog regularly, you’d know what a great fan of Frances Mayes I am. I love the wanderlust in her, the way she explores places, and the way she is ready to travel anywhere at the drop of a hat.

I’d love to have her over for lunch, and talk to her about all the exotic and common destinations that she has travelled to.

6. Marlena de Blasi

I loved Marlena de Blasi’s books about Italy. I love the way she looks at the things and people around her, the dreamer’s soul inside her, her wanderlust, and her desire for a simple life that reflects in her writing.

What would I talk about with her? Italy, and about the other places she has travelled to.

7. Ruskin Bond

Bond Aiyyah! I love his non-fiction books, his child-like innocence, his simplicity, and his love for nature. I love that he has decided to make the mountains of India his home.

I would talk to him about how he likes living in the mountains, and his tales about life there.

8. Helene Hanff

The lady inspires me with her passion for learning and her endless curiosity. 84, Charing Cross and Q’s Legacy remain two of my most favourite books of all times.

I’d love to talk to her about her correspondence with the staff members of 84, Charing Cross Road and about her subsequent visit there. Oh, what an interesting conversation that would be!

9. Francesca from The Bridges Of Madison County

As I grow older, the more I relate to Francesca’s character, the more I understand the choices she made. Her heart broke into a million pieces, but she still held strong.

I would just love to hear her talk about Robert Kincaid. I am sure it would be one touching and beautiful conversation.

10. Teodora Angelini from Very Valentine

I loved the character of Teodora Angelini, grandmother of the heroine, Valentine Angelini. She is so full of verve, so much in love with life, so much fun, yet so mature. She has the backbone to keep her husband’s business running after his death, learning the ropes from him. She is so capable, so fiercely independent. She hasn’t given up on love and romance even in her eighties! Of course, I would love to have this woman at my lunch table.

I’d love to listen to her talk about her life, Italy and about her oh-so-romantic second marriage.

Who would make it to your list?

PS: As the OH says, I seem to be attracted to older, more mature characters in real and book life, rather than young ‘uns. 😛

PPS: I don’t think I’d be able to get much lunch eaten if I had a table full of guests as interesting as these! I’d better meet them over cups of tea and snacks. 😀

PPPS: Yes, I know it is not Tuesday today. I couldn’t get this post done yesterday, and I badly wanted to do it. Better late than never, eh? 🙂

7 thoughts on “Top 10 Book People I’d Love To Lunch With

  1. What a great list! I agree with you – lunch would be a scanty affair with such people around. 😉
    I would also have RK Narayan on my list. Have a huge admiration for the man and his brother, RK Laxman.

    Like

  2. Interesting list. Robert Kincaid would make it to my list too! Hmmm…others would be Scarlett O hara, Albus Dumbeldore, Penelope from one of my favourite books The Shell-seekers, and my fav author Nevil Shute.

    Like

Leave a Reply

