Top 10 Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

As you guys probably already know, I’ve been having a tough time finding books that are good enough. Something or the other is just not right with the ones I pick up. So, the other day, I sat myself down with a pen and a notebook, referring to book blogs and Goodreads and the recommendations of friends, and made a list of the books that I really, really, really would like to try out at the moment. Coincidentally, the topic for Top Ten Tuesday on The Broke And The Bookish this week happens to be ‘Top 10 books I really want to read but don’t own yet’, so I decided to put up my list here.

toptentuesdayHere we go…

1. Delancey: A Man, A Woman, A Restaurant, A Marriage – Molly Wizenberg

I adored Molly Wizenberg’s debut book, A Homemade Life: Stories And Recipes From My Kitchen Table, which was a memoir and one of the very first foodie memoirs that I read. In fact, it was this book that started me on a foodie memoir-reading spree. Now, her second book, the sequel to A Homemade Life – Delancey – is out and I am eager to read it. I hope it is as good as the first book, or even better!

2. Korma, Kheer & Kismet: Five Seasons In Old Delhi – Pamela Timms

I am an occasional reader of the largely-Delhi-related food blog Eat And Dust. I have loved the author’s posts whenever I have read them. So, when I came to know of her book – called Korma, Kheer & Kismet: Five Seasons In Old Delhi – I wanted to read it immediately. I hope it will be a scrumptious read, like her blog. Who can resist that title, BTW?

3. My Berlin Kitchen: A Love Story (With Recipes) – Luisa Weiss

It looks like there are quite a few more foodie memoirs that I want to read. This is a book that I came across, by chance, in a bookstore some time back and was attracted to instantly. I walked out without buying the book – I wanted to think over the purchase – but now, I have decided I do want to read it. I have a feeling I will like the book.

4. The Italian Wedding – Nicky Pellegrino

This book is on this list because I want to read something light and frothy, because I usually like books with Italy and food and weddings and wedding gowns, and because I have read and reasonably liked one of Nicky Pellegrino’s other books – Delicious.

5. The Hat Shop On The Corner – Marita Conlon – McKenna

While making this list, I remembered reading about this book on this girl’s blog a long time ago and thinking that it sounded cute. I searched for the post in question, and the book still sounded cute. Hence, the addition to this list. I think the book is yet to be released in India, though – I am unable to find it anywhere.

6. The Guestbook – Holly Martin

I am quite fond of books in which stories are told through devices like diary entries, letters, scrapbooks, e-mails and the like. So, when I came across this book, in which the story is told entirely through entries in a guestbook in a holiday home, I knew I wanted to give it a try. This is the first time I have heard about this author, and I really hope I enjoy the book.

7. The Complete Calvin & Hobbes – Bill Watterson

I discovered the inimitable brat, his best friend and their antics quite late in my life, and fell in love with them instantly. I so want to own and read the complete C&H collection, to read off and on, and smile and nod at their philosophies, but have never gotten around to doing that. The boxed set, which I really really want, is quite expensive, an inhibiting factor for me. Kind friends have sent across the PDF versions of part of the collection, but that hasn’t held the same charm. I have, hence, held off reading these books till I get hold of the paper books. If anyone is wondering what to buy for my birthday/anniversary/Diwali/Christmas/any other occasion/without occasion, just like that, you now know, right?

8. Missed Connections: Love, Lost & Found – Sophie Blackall

I am a sucker for romance, real-life romantic stories all the more. So, when I heard about this book on Ramya’s Bookshelf some time ago, I knew I wanted to read it. The book contains drawings by illustrator Sophie Blackall, based on Craigslist’s Missed Connections. Now, if that isn’t romantic and very unique, what is?

9. Ruskin Bond’s Book Of Nature

I have loved Ruskin Bond’s books that have been based on the places that he has lived in. I love the simplicity and the honesty with which he writes, and the way his words paint lovely images in my mind. I now want to get my hands on his book based on nature, Ruskin Bond’s Book Of Nature.

10. That Book Woman – Heather Henson and David Small

This book sounds delectable to me. Plus it is reminiscent of a book that I read some time back and loved, Masha Hamilton’s The Camel Bookmobile. I so want to read it! I know I will love it. I just know.

I so hope these books turn out to be just what I need at the moment, in terms of reading.

Have you read any of these?

19 thoughts on “Top 10 Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

  1. I have just bought Pamela Timms’ book – can’t wait to read it. Been wanting to read Delancey and My Berlin Kitchen too. But i have been reading too many food memoirs and food writing recently, so maybe will take a break. by the way, have I already recommended Delicious by Ruth Reichl – it is absolutely lovely. I liked all her earlier non fiction / memoirs and this is her first fiction book.

    Like

    1. @Charukesi

      Well, I have been reading too many foodie writing of late, too, but then, it’s fun. πŸ™‚ That’s the only kind of writing I seem to be enjoying, actually.

      I would love to read Delicious, too, I think.

      Like

    1. @Musicofchance

      Nice spread? I thought this list was mostly about food. πŸ™‚

      I don’t think I read quickly at all – in fact, I am quite a slow reader. I average about three books a month, sometimes four, which is way, way, way less than most other people I know read. And very less compared to the number of books that I would like to read.

      Like

      1. haha, i’ll confess, am at work so ran my eyes only the book titles.
        and, i dont think i want to know the people you know who read πŸ™‚ ever since work life hit me, i have averaged, like, a book a month or something (in a good month) – even by my own slow reader standards, i disgust myself

        Like

  2. A wonderful book-list yet again. It must be noted here that *drumroll* I own the Calvin and Hobbes box set! πŸ˜› R gave it to me on my birthday last year. πŸ˜€ What a perfect delight it is indeed to see things from the eyes of the duo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

