Just Read

How Reading Changed My Life – Anna Quindlen

How Reading Changed My Life is a collection of American author, journalist and columnist Anna Quindlen’s thoughts and reflections about reading – mainly of paper books. She writes about how, as a child, she was considered the odd one out because she was more interested in books than in playing outside on in dolls. She muses on the different types of books that she has read, and how they have helped her in different phases of her life. She also writes about her belief that reading is not going anywhere, in spite of the people largely preferring to read online of late and a number of bookshops turning into gift shops.

I enjoyed reading this very short book. I could relate to a lot of the author’s experiences with and reflections about books. That said, the book is written in the form of essays, containing hard-core facts and figures, which gets a tad textbook-ish at times. I would have enjoyed the book more, had it been just about the author’s reflections on books and how they have figured in her life so far. This is just my grouse, though, because I like reading books based on reflections rather than on facts and figures.

Would I recommend this book? I definitely would, to lovers of books – both paper and electronic.

Brava Valentine – Adriana Trigiani

I loved Adriana Trigiani’s Very Valentine, and had been looking forward to read the second book in the series, Brava Valentine. So, naturally, when I got my hands on the book, I was quite excited. I am happy to tell you that I enjoyed Brava Valentine, too, just as much as I did the first book in the series.

Brava Valentine starts from where Very Valentine left off – at a point where Valentine is very confused and doesn’t know what to do with her life and career. Brava Valentine shows her coming into her own, becoming the kind of person and worker she always wanted to be. In fact, I loved the way Valentine’s character has been portrayed – like everyone else, she has her flaws, she is confused and scared, but that doesn’t stop her from doing what she has to do. I liked that Valentine is not extraordinary, but just a girl next door with a lot of dreams. I loved that the author chose neither to make her heroine a total bimbette nor a superwoman.

Brava Valentine also takes Valentine’s love life ahead. Valentine faces her own insecurities in this regard, too, and deals with them, which is, again, something I loved. I loved how Valentine’s paramour romances and woos her – it is incredibly heart-touching and beautiful.

I would definitely recommend this book. Do pick it up if you are looking for something light to read, which is not utterly chick-lit-ish.

I now want to get my hands on the third book in the series, The Supreme Macaroni Company.

Have you read any of these books, or both of them? What are your thoughts about it/them?

What are you reading at the moment?

14 thoughts on “Just Read

  1. Hey, after reading one of your posts, picked up the Gap Year for Grown Ups (did you like it btw?) and All fall Down and kind of enjoyed both, the latter more than the former. Thanks for the recos.

    Like

    1. @Aparna

      I left The Gap Year For Grown-Ups midway, because it was getting too dumb. And another book had occupied my attention by then. I will try to finish it, though. I enjoyed the first half of the story, later it just started to feel ridiculous.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the book, though. I haven’t heard of All Fall Down.

      Like

  2. Noted ma’m πŸ™‚ I am currently reading Unsettled by Neelima Vinod as part of review request from Indireads. I finished reading some more South Asian fiction last week (reviews coming up).
    I am also reading “tender to the bone” (that am sure you know of πŸ™‚ )

    Like

  3. The first book sounds interesting, TGND. I will look for it.

    I know I have been saying the same, but I am going to start reading Very Valentine today. Infact I cant wait to reach home πŸ™‚ Now this review on Brava Valentine has only made me finish the first book soon πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

