Just read

Relish: My Life In The Kitchen – Lucy Knisley

Relish: My Life In The Kitchen is a food memoir of a different type. It is a graphic retelling of the author’s growing-up days, in the New York countryside, and of her relationship with different types of food at different points in her life. It makes for a beautiful, not to mention very interesting, read. I am so glad I could get my hands on this book and that I could read it. This is one of the very few graphic novels I have read, actually, and I quite liked the experience.

The author’s illustrations are superbly done, and I loved her style of narration through short thought bubbles and captions. She has included some of her favourite recipes, too, in the book, again well-illustrated.

I don’t want to say much about this book, except that is a super fun and different kind of read. Do grab a copy soon. Highly recommended.

The F-Word – Mita Kapur

The F-Word is, again, all about food. So, I went ahead and read yet another food memoir. 🙂 I seem to be stuck on the genre at the moment.

The F-Word is a memoir of the author’s life, with generous doses of food thrown in. She writes fondly about her growing-up days, her husband and the family she married into, her three children and the various travels she undertook in her life, and about the foods that played a crucial role during each of these periods. Peppered with nostalgia and the author’s favourite recipes, The F-Word makes for interesting reading.

I liked how the author has been extremely honest about her feelings about various things in her life. The book is well-written, and has the necessary depth to it, too.

I wish the book had seen a little bit tighter editing, though. Also, some of the recipes included are way too fancy (at least for me!) and include ingredients that the author used to bring home from her various trips, national and international.

Overall, I liked the book and enjoyed reading it. Do pick it up if you are in the mood for some foodie reading, with nostalgia and travel thrown in.

Have you read either of or both these books? What do you think about it/them?

What are you reading the moment?

11 thoughts on “Just read

  1. Now this is a new genre to me. Food combined with travel sounds quite interesting .. You sure do read a huge variety of books, don’t you? 🙂
    I love reading travelogues .. Maybe I can try this kind too ..

    Like

    1. @Aarthy1823

      I don’t think I read a huge variety of genres…I stick to a few favourite genres, like contemporary fiction, food, memoirs, travel and, lately, historical fiction. 🙂

      Do try out these two books. You might enjoy them!

      Like

  2. I have not read book the books, but will lay my hands on them soon! 🙂 I read Thousand Days in Venice last week and enjoyed a lot – thanks to you 🙂 I am now reading Paths of Glory – Jeffery Archer which is based on the true story of George Mallory. I am finding it very interesting 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

