The one in which we made mango jam

The father knows that his daughter loves raw mangoes, and has been buying them by the dozen. The mother has been irritated to the core, for she does not know what to do with them. There is an extent to which she can make mango pickle, thokku, sambar and rice, after all. So, the last time Appa arrived home with a bagful of raw mangoes and Amma had that I-am-going-to-scream-at-full-volume look on her face, I decided to take things in my hands. I told Amma, much to Appa’s relief, that I would look up some new recipes on the internet and put the mangoes to good use. πŸ™‚

Among the many, many, many raw mango recipes I came across, I found some for making jam. These were the ones that interested me the most, for I have never made jam at home before. Moreover, they promised no usage of artificial colours or added preservatives. I didn’t need any more incentive than that. Raw mango jam was promptly made and bottled for the home, and put into small containers and parceled off to the homes of friends and relatives, too.

I liked the end product. It brings back beautiful memories of straight-off-the-stove parathas that Amma used to make for me back in the school days, over which I used to put a big dollop of mixed fruit jam, watch it loosen up in the heat, and then gobble it up. I did just that the other day, and fell in love with the sweet meal all over again. The OH, watching me intently, followed suit and slurped some parathas up, too. He had never tried this method of eating parathas, he told me. πŸ˜‰

Amma is happy that the mangoes are finally used up, and that the jam tastes lovely – just the right mix of sweet, sour and spicy. Appa and Patti have been religiously polishing off spoons of the jam with most meals, and Amma puts a bit of it into her mouth as well, while serving. πŸ˜›

Here is how it looks. We have been too busy licking it off to take decent-er pictures, okay? πŸ™‚

I used this recipe as the base, and adapted it as per our tastes and preferences.

These are the proportions that I encountered:

Ingredients:

3 medium-sized raw mangoes

About 3/4 cup sugar (or according to taste)

Juice of 1 lemon

1 teaspoon red chilli powder

Method:

1. Remove the skin from the raw mangoes. Grate them finely.

2. Take the grated mangoes in a large bowl and mix in the sugar. Keep aside for about 15 minutes.

3. At the end of 15 minutes, the mangoes would have released water. Take the mango-sugar mixture in a large pan and begin to cook it on a medium flame.

4. Cook the mixture till it takes on a jam-like consistency. Keep stirring intermittently, to ensure that the mixture does not stick to the bottom and sides of the pan. This takes about half an hour.

5. When the jam is almost done, add the lemon juice and red chilli powder. Mix well, and cook some more to ensure that all the flavours are well integrated together.

6. Let it cool before you bottle it.

Have you tried making jam at home? How do you do it? Tell me, I’d love to know!

23 thoughts on “The one in which we made mango jam

  1. Thanks for sharing your recipe; I love the addition of the chilli powder!

    We love mangoes and often add frozen ones to smoothies–can you send your extras overseas? πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Thats looking so so slurpyyyyy!! πŸ™‚ I am not a huge fan of mangoes *I know I know, its a shame* so I am not sure if I will try this but I will recommend it to other mango lovers πŸ™‚

    My MIL makes something similar – only that she uses jaggery instead of sugar and skip lemon juice πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. where is my share .. first tell me that. ? ? ?

    you know on my way back I bought 2 jars of Mangoe Chutney from Fabmart πŸ™‚ about 800gms.. and now on weekends I , relish it wth my PAranthas .. it is finishing off .. thats why the FIrst Line .. πŸ™‚

    Like

      1. i am sure courier works toooooo πŸ™‚ next day delivery these days … he he he he he

        and yessssssssssssssss it does .. I will have to visit now even if its only for the JAM πŸ™‚

        Thank you TGND

        Like

Leave a Reply

