More randomness

~  The sister-in-law and her kids and the brothers-in-law are expected to come to our house for dinner tomorrow. The menu is ready, and the raw materials have been assembled. I am looking forward to the cooking and the camaraderie!

~  I have started reading Sandeepa Mukherjee Datta‘s Bong Mom’s Cookbook, because I didn’t seem to be making any progress with The Twentieth Wife. I am almost about to finish it, actually. So far, it has been a nice, light read.  and I am glad I picked it up. The book inspires me to try my hand at some of the Bengali recipes in it, too.

~ I am on a foodie memoir-reading spree, it seems. All I seem to be interested in reading these days is warm, personal and nostalgic food-based memoirs. Any suggestions in this regard are welcome!

~ Bangalore has grown a tad cooler over the last few days, with sporadic rains and cloudy skies. It is still hot and sweaty, but I think the weather is better than it was last month or so. I am craving for the old Bangalore weather that I so used to love!

~ I ordered a couple of books from Amazon last week, in separate installments. I am amazed at their efficiency and quality of deliveries. Lovely!

~  Considering that my cellphone had become little more than a useless dabba, we got myself a new Nokia phone yesterday. It is a touchscreen (my first!), and has internet, et al. The technologically challenged me has been breathless trying to understand how to use the phone to just type messages and make calls. I have no clue about how to use the various features of the phone, but I have been experimenting and learning. I am all excited to learn how to use Whatsapp. 🙂 It takes 21 days to form a habit, they say. Hmm, well, let’s see.

~  I have, finally, purged my bookshelf. I have separated the books that I want to give away, sell as second-hand, and keep with myself. It has been a liberating experience so far, once you get past the initial I-don’t-want-to-do-it stuff. My bookshelf looks much better now, and I am happy to have finally reduced some clutter in my life.

~ I have been reading up on Bangalore for some articles for work, and have been enlightened. There was so much about the city that I didn’t know, there is so much about it that I still don’t know, so much that I need to see and explore. I am looking forward to it.

~ I made lauki ke kofte the other day, and they turned out delicious! Recipe coming up on blog soon. Don’t expect the authentic version of the kofte, do expect my own home-grown version. 🙂

~  Have you ever walked on a path strewn with eucalyptus leaves after a shower of rain? You should totally try it out whenever you get a chance, I say. The leaves smell heavenly when they get wet!

~ I have still not watched Queen. I so want to! Have you?

~ I watched part of the Govinda-Sanjay Dutt-starrer Haseena Maan Jaayegi a few days ago. Brainless, yes, but it felt good to watch something like that after a long, long, long time.

18 thoughts on “More randomness

  1. You’ve already covered all the books I had in mind – Shoba’s Monsoon Diary, all of Ruth Reichl (esp love the one about her life as a restaurant critic in NYC), Madhur Jaffrey. Not a memoir but if you like books about food and restaurants, have you read Waiter Rant? It’s super funny. Also Anthony Bourdain’s books.

    Like

    1. @Charukesi

      I am loving Monsoon Diary. 🙂

      Have heard a lot about Ruth Reichl’s books, but haven’t had a chance to read them yet. I want to read Madhur Jaffrey and Anthony Bourdain too.

      Will look up Waiter Rant. Never heard of it before. Thanks so much for all the suggestions. 🙂

      Like

  2. Please feel free to add these random posts to my Really Random Tuesday Mister Linky–even if they were not posted on a Tuesday! I think they are wonderful.

    Like

  3. Just finished “The Language of Baklava”. It is a beautiful book. Also try all of Ruth Reichl’s Food memoirs. Madhur Jaffrey’s “Climbing the Mango Tree” is another favorite. Orangette, from a food blogger is lovely too.

    Like

    1. @BM

      Hey! Welcome here! 🙂

      I quite enjoyed reading Bong Mom’s Cookbook.

      The Language of Baklava is on my must-read list. I have a feeling I will like the book, too. 🙂

      Thank you so much for the other suggestions. Will give them a shot.

      A Homemade Life is the book by Molly Wizenberg, the author of the food blog Orangette, right? Read that too recently, and loved it.

      Like

  4. Chal Mere Bhai had Salman Khan!!! Are you talking about Haseena Maan Jayegi?? 😀

    Lemme warn you about Whatsapp…its addictive!!! good Luck 🙂

    I loved reading this post…..:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

