Little things that get lost

I wanted to tell you
About the one mango that has sprung up
On the tree in front of our house

I wanted to tell you
How the malli plant at home
Yields exactly three flowers every day

I wanted to tell you
That I looked up the recipe for your favourite salted cookies
Yesterday, on the internet

I wanted to tell you
How our neighbour was all praise, the other day
For the pink saree I wore

I wanted to tell you
Of the prank call I received
In the late evening, yesterday

But your cup of tea went from hot to stone cold
And the things meant to be said over tea time
Never got said at all

There formed a layer of neglect
On the surface of your tea
To mock me of stories untold

6 thoughts on “Little things that get lost

Leave a Reply

