Our feathered friends

We are lucky enough to be able to spot a good number of birds from the balcony of our house, in spite of living in a city that is fast becoming a concrete jungle. Over the four years we have been staying in this house, I have become quite used to hearing the calls of different kinds of birds and rushing to the balcony, dropping whatever I have been doing at the moment, camera in hand. šŸ™‚

Here are some pictures of some of our, more exclusive, feathered friends.

Turtle dove
Red-whiskered bulbul
Red-whiskered bulbul
Spotted Asian koel (female)
Tailorbird
Purple-rumped sunbird
Scaly-breasted munia
Magpie
Magpie
Crow pheasant
Crow pheasant

Prettiness, right? šŸ™‚

What do you see from your balcony?

33 thoughts on “Our feathered friends

  1. Thank you for updating my avian knowledge šŸ˜‰

    All I hear in my neighborhood are cuckoos. I do spot some other birds but I do not know what are they called šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Very lovely photos! Interesting that each features a single bird. We get some pretty jays here, and other assorted birds–crows, cooing doves, and even a majestic owl every so often!

    Like

    1. @Suko

      Wow, that is quite a lot of great birds you see at your place. Why don’t you try to post pictures of them?

      The birds do come in droves most of the times, sometimes single. They are easier to capture on camera when they are single. šŸ™‚

      Thank you so much, Suko!

      Like

  3. I learnt a couple of names here šŸ˜€ Any source helping you with the ID’s?

    I have a very loyal koel who is visiting an elderflower shrub these days to feast on the berries šŸ˜€
    My favourites are the sunbirds though,that splash of yellow on that tiny teeny body is just too adorable!!!!I remember seeing sparrows a couple of years back,a lot of them but surprisingly for only a single afternoon.I was hoping they would stay.Well,they disappeared!No luck esp with the mobile towers so close šŸ˜¦

    Like

    1. @Vidya

      No human source helping me with the identification. Dear old Google does. šŸ™‚

      I didn’t know what elderflower looked like. Google helped me in that again. šŸ™‚

      I love the sunbirds, too. And, yes, the sparrows have almost disappeared. šŸ˜¦

      Like

  4. Wow! That is a good collection šŸ™‚ Really nice pictures and lovely observation.
    Here, I see a lot of mynahs, thrushes, kingfisher, magpies, sparrows etc. Honestly, am not much of a bird watcher. Perhaps I need to look closer. My mother would love your post šŸ™‚

    Sparrows seem to be disappearing fast.. do you spot any at all?

    Like

    1. @Kismitoffeebar

      Hey, you are able to spot such a lot of lovely birds! Why don’t you take pictures of them and put them up?!

      Please pass on the post to your Amma as well. šŸ™‚

      Yes, sparrows are disappearing in Bangalore. I don’t spot them anywhere, except at the airport where they come in droves. šŸ™‚ Such cuteness! I saw lots of them in Kashmir and at the Goravanahalli temple, too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

