Delhi chronicles 3: The mall experience

I love visiting malls, particularly in cities different from the ones I have lived in. I love visiting local markets and historical monuments, too, but I think malls are an equally important part in the culture of a city and do not hesitate to visit them whenever I have time left over. So, one day, during our stay in Delhi, the OH had some work in Saket and I had nothing to do, we decided that he would drop me at the famous Select Citywalk mall there. I could explore the mall – and the nearby DLF Place, too – to my heart’s content, and he would join me after he was done with his work. I thoroughly enjoyed the mall experience, in fact more than I had expected. Maybe the aimless wandering around, without any agenda, worked wonders for my soul. Sometimes, you need just that, right?

Now, I know there are a lot of lovely malls in Gurgaon and in other parts of Delhi, but Select Citywalk was the only one possible for us on this trip, and we went with it.

Like I said earlier, I was jobless and aimless in the mall. So, all I did was relax, observe, click loads of pictures and eat/drink whenever the urge struck me. I saw a lot of brands that were new to me, and fell in love with a lot of shops here. Cocoberry, for instance, was new to me, where I grabbed a yummylicious mango frozen yoghurt.

The facade of Select Citywalk, all lit up in the night
The ‘wine wall’ at Punjab Grill

After a lovely lunch of panipoori and bhel at Haldiram’s, I spent some time in the waiting area, reading a book below the overcast sky.

In the waiting area at Select Citywalk

I admired the decorations in the mall, permanent ones as well as those for Independence Day.

A Buddha statue outside Select Citywalk
Independence Day decorations at Select Citywalk
Independence Day decorations at Select Citywalk
A ‘Jungle Book’ tableau at DLF Place
Independence Day decorations at DLF Place. I love the message that this particular piece is conveying!

It was in DLF Place that I had my first taste of cinnamon roll, and was it yummy?! I had only read about cinnamon rolls in books, and had always wondered what they would taste like. Finally, I got to sample one at Auntie Anne’s.

The calorie-laden but gorgeous cinnamon roll

The day ended with a dinner of the best sizzler I have ever had (seriously!) at Joe’s in the foodcourt in DLF Place, with the OH. What deliciousness!

Schezwan sizzler at Joe’s

And that is how we came to the end of a day full of wandering, relaxing, photography and first trials. šŸ™‚

****************************

Have you read Part 1 and Part 2 of this travelogue?

25 thoughts on “Delhi chronicles 3: The mall experience

  1. Unlike you, I hate malls, malling and the weekend crowds that fill up the place like there is no tomorrow. I do, however, realise and accept that malls are very much part and parcel of urban culture. I prefer open air markets like Dilli Haat and local markets.

    Like

  2. I think the Great India Place in Noida and Ambiance Mall in Gurgaon are the largest of them all.
    I somehow do not like visiting the malls. I end up with a few thousand rupees less which is not a pleasant experience. šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Lovely pictures. I end up at Select Citywalk every now and then, but have taken it so much for granted (since I’ve been living in Delhi in the last 2 years), that I’ve never bothered taking pictures. Witnessed some really pretty sunsets from its terrace though šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Select City Walk Mall at DLF is so huge and feel nothing beats it in Delhi and Gurgaon. I was amazed and mesmerized at its sheer magnitude when I visited in November last. I remember grabbing a capuccino at Costa:)

    Like

    1. @Wanderlustathome

      I am not a big fan of malls on weekends, too. I usually try to go in the afternoons or on week days, so that the crowds are less. šŸ™‚ I am not against malls, as such.

      I loved their tissues, too. šŸ˜€ They had nice, cheeky messages.

      Like

  5. Oooooh! I would love spending time the way you did. I do that here too when K works on some weekends šŸ˜› The malls sometimes have outstanding libraries and you know how that is! A bonus šŸ™‚

    I like cinnamon rolls too as long as they aren’t too sweet. Some are šŸ˜¦ our pic looks so tempting, especially the one from Joe’s. I miss that here TGND – the chaats, the sizzlers šŸ˜¦

    Like

    1. @Kismi

      I spend time that way in Bangalore, too, when the OH is working on weekends. šŸ™‚ Love the experience!

      Wow, libraries at malls sounds like such a fantastic idea!

      This was the first time I tasted cinnamon rolls, so not really sure how they taste at other places. The sizzler tasted really good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

