Day 30: The truest of friends

It was that books made me feel that, perhaps, I was not completely alone. They could be honest with me, and I, with them.

~ Will Herondale

For as long as I can remember, I have loved books the way I love dear friends. I enjoy spending time with them, stealing a moment from a busy Monday morning or a lazy Sunday afternoon to be with them. I can turn to them anywhere, at any time, and they, the generous selves that they are, open themselves up to me in all their splendour. They tell me all that I need to know, and are always there whenever I need them. They have helped me tide over some of the most difficult times of my life.

The book in the picture is Nora Seton’s The Kitchen Congregation, a memoir, my latest read.

I can’t think of anything better than my books for today’s July Photo-a-Day prompt, ‘Friendship’.

16 thoughts on “Day 30: The truest of friends

  1. This is a sentiment that I can identify with, TGND. Having lived in so many cities and changing schools practically every year, books were the only constant in my life. Every time we shifted houses/cities, the book cartons would be the last to be packed in the old house and the first to be unpacked in the new house.

    Some of those books are still with me after all these years. 🙂

    Like

  2. TGND – Coming here after a long time and I missed all your previous posts :(.. This book sounds interesting and I am gonna find it and start reading it..Meanwhile you enjoy the book 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh I love it 🙂 The way you have interpreted this theme! My love and respect for books has grown multiple folds now that I stay alone – there cant be a better companion than a good book 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

