Dalia stir fry

Here’s yet another recipe that uses dalia, which is a regular at our house. A simple, one-pot meal, it is healthy as well.

Ingredients (for 2 people):

1-1/2 glass dalia (broken wheat)

Salt to taste

About 1-1/2 cups of mixed vegetables – chopped (I use carrots, green peas, french beans, cabbage and capsicum)

A 1-inch piece of ginger (peeled and chopped)

A pinch of ajinomoto

4-5 medium sized cloves of garlic (peeled and chopped)

1 tablespoon oil

Black pepper powder to taste

2 medium-sized onions (chopped finely)

Method:

1. Dry roast the dalia in a pan, till it begins to give out a good smell. Let it cool down completely.

2. Grind the ginger and garlic to a paste. Keep aside.

3. When the dalia cools down completely, boil the dalia in a pressure cooker, using about 3 glasses of water. You can vary the quantity of water here, depending upon the consistency that you require. Using 3 glasses of water for 1-1/2 glasses of dalia will give you a well-boiled but not gooey or overcooked consistency. Let the dalia cool down entirely.

4. Heat the oil in a wide pan and add the ginger-garlic paste. Fry for about a minute.

5. Then, put in the onions and cook till they start browning.

6. Then, add all the vegetables to the pan with a very little amount of water. Cover and cook for about 3 minutes.

7. Now, add the salt and pepper powder to taste, cover the pan, and cook till the vegetables are done. Let the vegetables be a firm, and do not overcook them.

8. Once the vegetables are cooked, lower the flame and add the cooked dalia to the pan. Mix everything well together. Check for seasoning, and add salt or pepper powder if required. Let everything cook together for about 2 minutes.

9. When the stir fry is done, add a pinch of ajinomoto to it. Mix well, and turn off the flame.

Serve hot, with tomato and chilli sauce, manchurian in gravy or hot-and-sour soup.

11 thoughts on “Dalia stir fry

  1. What I did , day before yesterday and what I do pretty frequently : Using all veggies ( Beans , Tomato , onions , Carrot , Peas, Cauliflower) , roasted dahlia , toor daal I make bisibelle bhaat. I do not use home-made spices , I use *Maiya’s Bisibelle Bhaat” since it’s less spice than MTR masals. It’s darn good and healthy too for a light dinner or a quick lunch box. πŸ™‚

    I loved your blog a lot.I will be back.:)

    Like

      1. Errr..came back to say thank you. I made this today for my lunch. Pretty nice. I added oregano instead πŸ™‚ Dont use ajinomoto (stopped using when I was pregnant and stuff, so dont get it anymore in the house) but it was awesome πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. @R’s Mom

        I don’t commonly use ajinomoto in my kitchen, too. Just have a bit that I need to use up.

        Oregano sounds like an interesting addition. Will try it out next time. πŸ™‚

        I am so glad to know you enjoyed the recipe. πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Arey waah! I am enjoying how you are getting all inventive with dalia. I am yet to move beyond the upma. Thanks, I know dalia is happening one of these days and when it does, I will share how it turned out πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

