Kerala diaries 2: A bit of bird spotting

Purple-rumped sunbird
Purple-rumped sunbird
Indian pond heron
Indian pond heron
I don't know what this one is called - if you do, please do enlighten me!
I don’t know what this one is called – if you do, please do enlighten me!
I don't know what this one is called either!
I don’t know what this one is called either!
Brahminy kite
Brahminy kite
White-breasted kingfisher – can you spot it?
Lesser cormorant
White crane
White crane

****************************

Have you read Part 1 of this travelogue?

38 thoughts on “Kerala diaries 2: A bit of bird spotting

  1. The bird looks like what is called “anhinga” in the US (atleast in the Florida Everglades) where we saw it. You take wonderful pictures and your blog is a visual feast. Thanks for keeping it coming!

    Like

    1. @Shail

      You are lucky to live in the midst of so many pretty, colourful birds. 🙂

      I was actually thinking of asking you to help me identify the couple of birds that I could not recognise. Do you know them?

      Like

  2. I loved the first one!
    By the time I spot a bird and take out the camera and switch it on, it flies away 😥
    Always a running joke in my family that birds are tired of my ‘slowness’

    Like

Leave a Reply

