I’ll always have the unknown….

The other day, I happened to be at Landmark, surrounded by books of all shapes, sizes, colours and about all sorts of topics. I had time to kill, and began exploring the shelves. I began making a list of all the books that I would like to read from the lot there, and gave up after a bit – I had practically listed at least 70% of the books I had shuffled through in that time. I wanted to read the book about Madame Tussauds, I wanted to read the one about hobbits and hobbit holes, I wanted to read the one about the dead writing letters to the living, and I wanted to read the one about a frustrated Parisian restauranteur coming across her own life story in a book. Of course, I couldn’t buy everything, so I left with one book, a tad heavy-hearted.

The next stop that day was a store for pre-loved books that I absolutely love. There, I came face-to-face with more books about more interesting topics – how a block of wood is converted into a violin, how the discovery of a piano shop changed a man’s life, the viewpoint of someone who hated the much-loved Tuscany at first sight, two women striking up an unlikely friendship in modern-day China, the world of concubines in Japan, and so on and so forth. Again, I wanted to buy and read everything, but constraints of the wallet and room in the house pulled me back. I left with just three books, again a tad heavy-hearted.

And then, I got thinking about whether I would ever get a chance to see all the worlds that I read about in books, to live like the characters did, to explore the nooks and crannies in the places that they did. I knew I wouldn’t be able to do all of that in one lifetime, and that realisation rendered me even more heavy-hearted. Try as I might, I wouldn’t be able to read all that I want to, see all that I want to, and do all that I want to. All I could really do was try.

So many books, so little time.

~ Frank Zappa

Actually, it is ‘So many books, so many dishes, so many places, so much to experience, so much to learn, so little time. So little money and so little room, too.’ Sigh!

I didn’t like the feeling. It made me sullen – the fact that life is so short and there is so much to do. Heck, I haven’t even finished 20% of all that I really, really, really want to do! Yes, I do torture myself over such things. And, yes, I torture the OH over such things, too. With his trademark gentleness, he tells me to take it easy, and to take it one step at a time. But would I be me I if I could do that?

Later, on the very same day, I found a bolt from the blue on Facebook. You know how you have been pondering over something, and you suddenly find the answer in a random quote or some words that you read in a book? That was how it was for me.

This is what I found:

It felt like a voice from High Above whispering to me. It was as if this quote were written just for me.

I knew then that I might not be able to read, do and see all that I want to in my life, but I will always have the unknown. I will always have something more to explore. And, for that, my life will never be dull.

I slept with a sense of calm inside me that day.

32 thoughts on “I’ll always have the unknown….

  1. I too worry about this all the while. There are so many books to read, so many worlds to see. Sometimes I wish I had loads of money so that I could travel all year around. šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. How beautifully expressed! šŸ™‚

    I did the same sometime back..in the library. Alas, I could pick just 2 books.

    The quote makes me feel..umm..a little more enthusiastic about life. Makes sense? šŸ˜›

    Like

    1. @Monkey Mind

      Thank you! šŸ™‚

      The post is not only about books. I want to do so much in life – see LOADS of places, meet LOADS of people, eat and cook a number of dishes, learn a LOT.. so on and so forth. I know all of that is not going to be possible. šŸ˜¦ Yes, the quote gives me enthusiasm, too. I know perfectly what you mean. šŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Ah yes. So little time, so much to do- but that is the charm šŸ™‚

        This is good. It is good to have ourselves looking forward to do more than to look back and spend time thinking about past, right? šŸ™‚

        Like

  3. This is really a thoughtful post. Loved it. Having these unknowns keep us going. Otherwise LIFE is …like .. I guess.. lifeless. Do I make sense?

    Like

  4. Thank you. This quote had once helped me too. And I felt so nostalgic reflecting on it again, now. It is true. Life is a beautiful adventure made beautiful by all that is out there to see and do. Just the reassurance that we cannot rest knowing everything is seen and done, is inspiration enough šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Kismi

      I am glad to know the quote brought back some sweet memories for you. šŸ™‚

      ‘Life is a beautiful adventure made beautiful by all that is out there to see and do. Just the reassurance that we cannot rest knowing everything is seen and done, is inspiration enough.” – couldn’t agree more!

      Like

  5. See, that’s the thing with books and perhaps that’s one of the beautiful reasons they exist too; in that they take you to places known and unknown, at your time and pace and through the recesses of your mind, even if you’re walking along with the author and their characters or by yourself. šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Hey! You are my soul sister! This is exactly what I keep thinking. Like 80% of the day and this is what compels me to keep trying different things. This thoughts helps me push myself to test my limits!

    Great post!! =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

