Dalia vegetable masala

If you have been reading my blog for some time, you would know how big a fan I am of cooking fresh and healthy meals, choosing ingredients that are healthy and natural over artificial, processed ones and pre-packaged food. I try to do that as much as is humanly possible for me, considering our routines and other constraints. And I try to make these meals tasty and easy to cook as well. Dalia or broken wheat is something that I use often in this endeavour.

One favourite dish in the household in which I use dalia is bisi bele bhaat, that I wrote about some time back. Another hot favourite is vegetable masala, a quick but tasty one-pot meal that is loaded with health.

Here is the recipe that I use:

Ingredients (for 2 people):

About 3/4 glass broken wheat (dalia)

About 1/4 glass of toor dal

About 1/4 glass of moong dal

Salt, to taste

Sambar powder/garam masala, according to taste

2 green chillies, slit lengthwise

About 4 cloves of garlic, peeled

A 1-inch piece of ginger, peeled

3 medium-sized tomatoes, chopped

Juice of 1-1/2 lemon, or according to taste

Turmeric powder, to taste

Red chilli powder, to taste, if required

A pinch of asafoetida, for tempering

1 teaspoon of mustard seeds, for tempering

Fresh coriander leaves, finely chopped, for garnishing

A 1-inch piece of cinnamon, broken into pieces, for the tempering

4-5 cloves, for tempering

1 medium-sized onion, finely chopped

About a cupful of chopped vegetables – you can add any vegetables of your choice here. What I typically use are beans, green peas, sprouted moong, cabbage, fresh kidney beans, carrots, capsicum and zucchini.

2 teaspoons of oil, for tempering

Method:

1. Grind the ginger and garlic into a paste. Keep aside.

2. Heat the oil in a pressure cooker bottom and add the asafoetida and mustard seeds. When the mustard seeds splutter, add the cloves and cinnamon.

3. When the cloves start swelling up, reduce the flame and add the chopped vegetables. Mix well.

4. Add the dalia, turmeric powder and salt and sambar powder/garam masala to taste, chopped onions, ginger-garlic paste, lemon juice, green chillies, red chilli powder (if using), chopped tomatoes and coriander. Mix well.

5. Add 3-1/2 to 4 glasses of water and close the cooker. Pressure cook for about 5 whistles. There, your yummylicious dalia vegetable masala is ready!

Note: I choose to cook this dish directly in the pressure cooker. If you are not comfortable doing so, you could pressure cook the vegetables, toor dal, moong dal and dalia separately, using the required amount of water, and add them later.

Have you tried this out?

What are the dishes that you make with dalia? Do tell me. I am most interested in learning more uses of this versatile ingredient.

16 thoughts on “Dalia vegetable masala

  1. We use dalia a lot at home. Dalia upma, dalia chakrapongal, dalia payasam, dalia khichadi. Not too fond of the last, but dalia vegetable upma is my favourite and we have it for dinner with lots of pachadi. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Sounds delish and looks it too! Will try this out. We used to have dalia kanji regularly for breakfast (and sometimes dinner) when we were growing up.

    Like

  3. I love dalia too! I use it very regularly in my cooking. I make a recipe that is a cross between your bisibela bath and vegatable masala. S loves it so much that I make it regularly every week when he is here πŸ™‚

    Will try this something too πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. This sounds absolutely delicious! I am definitely going to give this a try. It sounds like a perfect one pot meal. Though given my cooking expertise(NOT), it will never be as tasty as yours looks:)

    Like

  5. Yum! Although many of the ingredients are not recognizable to me, this looks fabulous! Thank you for sharing your recipe and cooking tips. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

