Random Rangamma

I’ll be very random in this post. Just because. πŸ™‚

~ The rains seem to have disappeared from Bangalore, after giving us a hint of gorgeousness. Rain, rain, please come again!

~ I am desperate for a vacation. However brief it might be. I need a break from my routine life very badly. All I want is a couple of days of sleeping, eating, sleeping, reading, writing, sleeping and talking to the OH. Oh, and random walks and gazing out of the window and admiring nature. Is that too much to ask for?

~ I read a couple of books by Anita Shreve. I can’t say I loved the books, but I sure loved the author’s writing style. It is crisp, poetic, engaging, and leaves one turning page after page. Even if nothing much is happening in the story as such. That’s great talent, no?

~ I tried out a new version of bhindi masala the other day, and the OH and I loved the output. It was yummy, if I say so myself. It was a nice change from bhindi sambar and the South Indian and Gujarati versions of bhindi sabzi that I make normally.

~ I am awed at the flexibility and usefulness of a foldable carry bag that a family friend got us from London years back. Funny to think that I never used it all these years, just kept it safely in my cupboard. After marriage and shifting to Bangalore, the bag has been immensely useful for grocery shopping. It can be folded and zipped, and looks just like a wallet, but opens up to reveal a huge carry bag that you can sling on your shoulders. Darn useful!

~ I have started going for my morning and evening walks again, after a long gap and gaining a few kilos. It feels good to be all sweaty and hot, knowing that I am doing something for myself, for the good of my body.

~ I can’t believe I waited 31 years to have my first taste of sizzling chocolate brownie! The OH and I had one at Cream Centre last weekend. It was sinful and yummylicious and happy-inducing, but I thought it was a great waste of chocolate syrup, too. All of it just gets burnt and goes into no one’s tummy. 😦

~ While we are on the subject of chocolate, have I told you that the Sticky Chewy Chocolate Fantasy at Swensen’s is lovely? A piece of paradise for chocolate lovers. πŸ™‚

~ I seem to have lost my creativity and my flair for writing somewhere down the line. I have tried to write like before many a times, but haven’t really been able to do so. 😦

~ I love the smells that fill up my home when I am cooking. I want my children to remember me, my kitchen, home by those smells. That is what I was thinking as the house was permeated with the smell of handvo cooking earlier today.

~ The house hunt for my parents continues. It has been quite a depressing affair so far. Maybe I should do a detailed post on it. (Note to self)

~ Dad has become the Pied Piper of the area, distributing chocolates and biscuits and other goodies to the children around, including the OH’s nephews, the children of my parents’ maid, and the kids of some construction workers nearby. He carries these treats in a bag whenever he goes out, and hands them over to these children who call out to him with cries of ‘Thatha, thatha!’ Cuteness, I say! πŸ™‚ It is a sight to watch out for.

~ I had, sort of, lost my ability to take joy in the little things around me – pretty flowers in bloom, a variety of birds, monkeys, lots of kids and just general people-watching. It seems to be coming back to me, in little spurts, all thanks to a photo-walk a couple of days back.

How have you been, people?

32 thoughts on “Random Rangamma

    1. @Aparna

      It is like our vegetable-and-rice sizzler, just that it contains a chocolate brownie and vanilla icecream instead. It tastes lovely but, personally, I think it involves a great waste of good chocolate syrup. It is a good idea to try it out once, just for the novelty factor. πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. “I seem to have lost my creativity and my flair for writing…..” my dear madame Rangamma, you already know what it is – so that is half the battle won (against the block!). In all these years that I have known you and been reading your posts, I know that you have never let some chillar block stop you. This too shall pass!

    Take care girl. I am so happy that you have the ability to enjoy small joys of life and feel the thrill. It’s a gift not everyone possesses.

    Like

  2. Hey I have a similar bag…it fold to be li’l pouch and becomes a big bag to pack in all goodies. Its is also waterproof and we generally carry it on our beach outings stuffing it with extra clothes, towels, some chips, and juices. πŸ™‚

    and you haven’t lost any writing flair. Your posts inspire me so much to write on days when I feel too lazy and lost. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Richa

      Thank you for the kind words. I am glad my posts provide you with sunshine on gloomy days. πŸ™‚ What I was saying is that the words don’t come as easily to me now as they used to. 😦

      My bag is waterproof, too. It is so very useful, no?

      Like

  3. LOL, I loved the title of your post πŸ™‚

    I drooled at all those places where you mentioned the term ‘chocolate’, really! Sizzling chocolate brownie!!! *Slurp*

    Oh and yes I am badly badly craving for a vacation too!

    I know the feeling, TGND when words fail to flow out of you! All I’d say, is just be patient and it shall pass. Your random rangamma in itself made for an enjoyable read! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Uncle and the kids – that sounds cute indeed πŸ™‚ Good luck with the house hunting πŸ™‚
    Hugs~ My sister was complaining about the (lack of) rains too!

    Like

  5. I too want that kind of bag!!!
    Yay! for resuming the walks!
    Take up a monthly challenege and the creative juices will start flowing πŸ˜‰
    Do write that home search post please πŸ™‚
    Try chinese style fried bhindi u will love it
    & ya! even I need a break!!! 😦

    Like

    1. @Smita

      Chinese style fried bhindi? Could you please share the recipe? Sounds very interesting. πŸ™‚

      I am thinking of taking up a challenge, but actually in two minds about it. 😦

      And, yes, hopefully, I will do the home search post soon.

      Like

  6. Can your Appa please come to Bombay..the little girl here needs a lot of treats and even the little girl’s Amma loves treats you know πŸ™‚

    Loved the randomness in the post :):)

    Errr..whats wrong with your writing..its as perfect as ever no?

    Like

    1. @R’s Mom

      He’d be happy to, I’m sure! πŸ™‚

      Thank you, RM.

      There’s lots wrong with my writing. I am struggling to write these days. The words just don’t seem to flow. I can’t imagine I used to be so creative earlier. Consequently, the number of posts on my blog have been dwindling – most of them are just book reviews.

      Like

  7. LOL at the break part, i too feel the same these days. You write too well and i have seen this in all your blog posts. I still have to do the sizzling brownie but i feel the drool when my kids have it.

    Like

  8. Hey, TGND, saw a Francis Mayes book in the lib and picked it up, thought of you and your review. Maybe it’s a phase, it will run its course and get over. Chocolate helps, or rather I help myself to it:) And walks too! Have been planning to email you a recipe, hopefully it will cheer you up a bit.

    Like

    1. @Chattywren

      Which book did you pick up? I’ve read all her non-fiction books. Somehow, don’t feel like reading her fiction. She is, apparently, an expert in travel writing.

      Hopefully, this writer’s block will run its course, and the words will flow again.

      Got your e-mail. Thanks! Will respond in a bit.

      Like

  9. Love, love, love the title of your post πŸ™‚

    And I can fully understand and empathise with this ‘not being able to write’. I’m still struggling with it and though there are days when I feel I have overcome it, I know that it is not so. I wish and hope that you have a better time overcoming it than me.

    Come to Bombay for that break, TGND. You and the OH are welcome to stay with us.

    PS: We have rains here. Lots of rain πŸ˜›

    Take care and hugs.

    Like

    1. @Sudhagee

      Thank you, Sudhagee! πŸ™‚

      We would be delighted to visit you and your mom in Mumbai some time. Let’s plan it out properly. Maybe in a couple of months’ time.

      I hope the writer’s block gets better soon. I miss the earlier me. 😦

      Like

      1. you better remember that you HAVE to stay with me and then go and visit Sudhagee okie πŸ˜‰

        @Sudhagee – okie *gives typical bambiyya threatening look hehehe *

        Like

  10. I was wondering why there havent been posts from you, except for the book reviews. Thought of writing to you in a day or two. Good to find this post now πŸ™‚

    I remembered my Thathi when I read about your dad. Felt happy. Had tears . Its good to know that earth still has people like him.

    I should try the flavour of icecream from Swensen’s then. You keep giving me a lot of ideas, to do during weekends. I am going to find the other place you mentioned here πŸ™‚

    Hope you enjoy your morning and evening walks πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Greenboochi

      Thank you so much for the concern, GB. πŸ™‚ I don’t know if I am back to writing non-book-review blog posts yet, though.

      I saw your letter to your Thathi, but am yet to read it. Have missed quite a few of your posts in between.

      I am enjoying my walks immensely. Just that it has a bit tiring to get back to them after a longish gap.

      Awww, I am glad you get great ideas from my blog! πŸ˜‰ You should try out Cream Centre and Swensen’s sometime. Lovely places, both.

      Like

  11. Points 1 and 2 – aye! aye!

    5 – need a bag like that

    6 – need to start that desperately

    7 & 8 – done both and looovvvee chocolate

    9 – don’t worry, this too shall pass

    10 – son loves the smell of garlic bread , whenever I get time to bake it, that is πŸ™‚

    11 – all in its own time

    12 – maybe I should come for a walk around, we are almost neighbours, did you know that?

    13 – amen to that

    Like

    1. @Bindu

      Hopefully, the sort-of-writer’s-block shall pass. And, yes, I hope I will get back to counting the little blessings in my life soon. πŸ™‚ Thank you!

      We are almost neighbours, yes? How come? Do mail me!!

      Like

      1. Bindu!!!!!!!!!!!!1 if you keep talking about meets and meets only, i demand that u make a visit to Hyderabad too πŸ˜› With orange cake at that πŸ˜‰

        Like

Leave a Reply

