Happiness is…

…. discovering proper Gujarati-style dabeli in your city.

…. a friend from another city sending you an extremely sweet CD, with a beautiful thought behind it.

…. relishing the first mango of the season.

…. discovering face washes and soaps from Lush.

…. serendipitously finding a copy of a book you have been wanting to read since ages.

…. rediscovering the joy of watching Bollywood movies.

…. the smell of wet earth invading your senses after a shower of rain every other day.

…. a meal of phulka rotis, Gujarati-style methi leaves curry, and the drumstick kadhi that your Patti used to make years ago.

…. discovering, and liking, historical fiction, a completely new genre of books for you.

…. a friend of your husband picking up some Gujarati snacks for you from a place where he found them being sold, because he knows you love them.

…. a game of online Scrabble.

…. Strawberry Body Butter from The Body Shop.

…. long slices of raw mango, sprinkled with chilli powder and salt.

…. listening to long-forgotten, crazy songs from the 90s, and finding out that you have so many memories associated with each one.

43 thoughts on “Happiness is…

    1. @Sudhagee

      For me, happiness right now is the darkening skies over here, the anticipation of rain, a good lunch just finished, and a Santa Montefiore book in my hand. πŸ™‚

      Your comment reminds me that I have never had jackfruit icecream ever. Should remedy that soon. πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Historical fiction!! one cant get enough of them..glad that you are enjoying them πŸ™‚
    you have rains every other day?? send the clouds here too πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    I cut a piece of a raw mango for the Ugadhi prasadam and found myself finishing the rest in the time I took to cut onions for sambar πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. @Visha

      I am happy I am enjoying historical fiction, too. I am still a new entrant into the genre, though. πŸ™‚

      Well, the rain seems to have disappeared these days. 😦 Gah!

      Oh, tell me about that! Raw mangoes are addictive! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. AGREE ! Talking of Lush, I haven’t tried any but have heard a lot about them. One of my friends here loves Lush! I am too intrigued by their gorilla perfume πŸ˜› Must try soon!

    Oh, Body Shop strawberry butter – Yes pease!

    Raw mangoes – Nothing can beat that combo !!

    Are you reading Indu Sundaresan?

    Like

    1. @Kismi

      I read about gorilla perfumes, too. It got me all intrigued. πŸ™‚

      Have you tried out Body Shop’s Strawberry Body Butter? It’s lovely, no? Doesn’t it tempt you to eat it, instead of applying it on your body? πŸ˜€

      Nope, not reading Indu Sundaresan. Reading a lot of Anthony Capella, and loving it.

      Like

      1. Yeah, I have the gift box of all flavours of body butter. I so so so so feel like eating it. That’s why I buy their lip butters. I just eat them in one shot. Even shea butter πŸ˜› and especially mango lip butter for non-mango seasons πŸ˜›

        Haven’t read Anthony Capella – will wait for reviews πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. @Kismi

        He he he, you are just as crazy as me. πŸ˜›

        I have tried only their cocoa butter and strawberry body butters. Haven’t yet tried their lip balms. Should do sometime. πŸ™‚

        Like

    1. @Instantlynoodles

      Well, I don’t listen to a lot of radio these days, so it wasn’t in the list. πŸ™‚ That said, yes, I do know the sheer joy it brings on one’s face when one’s favourite song pops up on the radio, just like that. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. πŸ™‚ The very same. I don’t listen to radio these days. And, yesterday for some reason I had it on during dinner. The RJ played all the Beatles I loved during the mealtime.

        Man that was something! I think I ate lot more than normal listening to the songs! πŸ˜›

        Like

Leave a Reply

