Safe Haven

I usually like Nicholas Sparks’ books – they provide me with light entertainment and a feel-good factor, which I need in between ‘heavy’ books. That was not the case with his Safe Haven, though. I ended up disappointed with this book.

Safe Haven is the story of Katie, a young woman who arrives in the small sea-side town of Southport, USA, harbouring some dark secrets. No one knows who she really is, and where she came from, and she isn’t willing to speak too much about herself, either. Katie finds a job as a waitress at Ivan’s, the iconic sea-side restaurant in Southport, and begins to feel at home in the town. Slowly, she begins to form hesitant friendships with two of the locals – a woman called Jo, who lives in the cottage next to the one she has rented, and Alex, the owner of the store where she normally shops for groceries.

The plot is interesting, and the characters too. I liked the way the author has sketched out the characters, with the help of little incidents from their everyday lives. There are moments in the story that have been beautifully etched.

The book is not perfect, though. There are loopholes in the plot, glaring and quite obvious ones. The book has enough drama to have a Bollywood movie made out of it, and I held on to the end so that I could find out how it all ended, only to be sorely disappointed.

This is not a book that I enjoyed or would heartily recommend. However, as I always say, that might just be me.

Have you read this book? How did you feel about it?

18 thoughts on “Safe Haven

  1. The only Nicholas Sparks I have read is “Message in a bottle”. It was nice, but not enough to make me pick up more of his books. I liked the movie better than the book.

    Like

    1. @Sudhagee

      I wouldn’t say Message In A Bottle is the best of Nicholas Sparks’s books. He does write with a certain simplicity and charm that touches the heart, not to mention in an incredibly romantic manner. You should give The Rescue and The Notebook a try.

      Like

  2. I read message in a bottle and walk to remember more than ten years ago. I wish I could live it by on books like these – feel free to interpret it any which way you want 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

