Happy new year!

Hey folks!

Here’s wishing you all a very happy new year! May this year hold good things for all of us! πŸ™‚

I came across these beautiful wish for a new year on Facebook, and loved it. I hope this comes true!

May your coming year be filled with magic and dreams and good madness. I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful, and don’t forget to make some art β€” write or draw or build or sing or live as only you can. And I hope, somewhere in the next year, you surprise yourself.

Neil Gaiman

I hope 2013 is better for India as well. 2012 saw some shocking incidents in India, a lot of celebs passing away, and a lot of chaos.

********

We brought in the new year quietly, at home. The OH came back a tad early from work on the 31st, and I was working from home. We had a simple home-made meal, post which we settled in in our comfortable couches to watch some TV, and talked and snuggled and held hands when it was 12 AM. At 12:05 AM sharp, we were fast asleep. πŸ™‚ It looks like we have grown up, as far as new year’s eves are concerned. πŸ™‚

On the 1st of January, again, we had a fairly quiet and relaxed day. We woke up rested and refreshed to a nice, hearty, home-made breakfast, watched some TV, read some blogs and books, wished people, and got ready to go to Amma’s place for lunch. (I even managed to purge my bookshelf of some books I haven’t touched in ages, a task that had been pending since forever. It feels so good!) Another hearty meal later, we set off to look at houses for my parents. We didn’t have much luck with finding a house that feels like home, but we did have a lot of fun. We returned home after gorging on some lovely South Indian fare at Annapoorni.

After last year’s new year’s eve food fiasco (I have resorted to calling it that!), this new year’s eve was full of food, and homely food at that. πŸ™‚ Minus all the stress of last year. I hope this is an indicator of lots of comfortable, homey stuff in the year ahead. πŸ™‚

********

In true TGND style, I waited with bated breath for the first song that I would hear in 2013. I like noticing such stuff. πŸ™‚ And, the song turned out to be something whacky called Baithe bithaye balander (blunder) na kariyo. I prefer not to think about the possible implications that listening to this song might have on my fortune for this year. πŸ˜€

********

Last year was a mish-mash of good and bad for us. It gave us as many reasons to weep and feel low as it gave us to rejoice and smile. I am hoping this year brings with it lots of good cheer and happiness. I could definitely use some. πŸ™‚

********

I have made a broad list of the things that I want to achieve in 2013. I am soon going to haul my butt on my couch, with a notepad and pen in hand, and make a list of the activities I need to undertake in order to achieve these goals. I don’t want my resolutions (if they can be called that!) to remain just plans. I do want to see them happening, through the course of the year.

********

I loved Sangitha’s post last year on finding your ‘word for the year’, which determines your actions in the time to come. I found it an interesting concept, one that has stuck on till date.

My word for 2012 was ‘balance’. I was seeking some form of balance in my life – everything was too chaotic and stressful at this time last year. I am happy to say I managed to achieve at least 80% of this objective.

For 2013, my action-oriented word would be ‘better’. My list of activities for 2013 reflect this. I want to get my life to a stage at which it is better than what it is now. Not that life isn’t good now, but I know certain things need to further improve. I will strive for that.

********

The world did not end on 21/12, as the Mayans had (apparently) predicted. I’m very glad to see this side of 21/12. I wasn’t ready to go just yet. πŸ™‚

There are a lot of places I want to visit, a lot of things I want to do in life before I go. I am thrilled to have a blank canvas before me now, in the form of 2013, which I can fill up with colours the way I want to. πŸ™‚ Yay to that!

********

How did you ring in the new year? What are your new year resolutions?

39 thoughts on “Happy new year!

  1. Happy New year to you TGND. I am a bit late here but have been running here and there from the last 4 days.
    This year will be super exciting for me. I am looking forward to all the ups and downs.
    My new year was very normal. I was working on 31st, so Geet and I were fast asleep by 11.00 pm. 😦

    Like

  2. Wish you a very happy new year TNGD πŸ™‚ I like your word of the year and wish you achieve all goals you have set for yourself! I am actually liking the concept of tagging a word at the beginning of the year and working towards it. I will try to think of it too πŸ™‚

    My new year just went off very usual.. except for the part I was excited going rides in our new car πŸ™‚

    PS – Same pinch on the new template πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. Have a cracking 2013 TGND. Loved the last line of the quote especially- hope we surprise ourselves by the end of the year. Loved reading your post and was nodding in head for quite a few of your musings.Word of the year -is interesting thought – there are many but one especially needs my attention and that is ‘PATIENCE’ .Cheers & Hugs

    Like

  4. Happy New Year, TGND. I loved the quote by Neil Gaiman and wish that this year unfurls in that manner for you.

    I also liked the idea of a word for the year. But even though I tried very hard, I can’t stick to one word ! And the words that are clamouring for space are (and in no particular order), peace, patience, travel, understanding, friends, focus …

    Like

  5. Happy new year to you and your OH πŸ™‚
    Totally loved this post… specially this “I am thrilled to have a blank canvas before me now, in the form of 2013, which I can fill up with colours the way I want to. Yay to that!” – that is welcoming the new year in such a nice spirit πŸ™‚
    My word for this year has to be “patience”.
    We welcomed the new year sleeping peacefully πŸ™‚ … as next day was working day… so no late nights πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Loved your NY post absolutely. Nice way to ring in the New Year πŸ™‚

    My word for 2013 will definitely be ‘consideration’.

    I had a working New Year, so it was a routine day for me πŸ˜€

    Like

  7. This was such a heartwarming post–happy new year to you and yours, TGND! This year I refrained from making specific resolutions, they make me feel like a fool at the end of the year because more often than not I am unable to keep them !

    Like

  8. Happieeeeeee new year TGND!
    That is a lovely quote πŸ™‚

    Totally enjoyed reading about your new year. (reminds me to write my post as well). Loved the fact you had lovely food and met parents and all. Lucky lucky you! πŸ™‚
    K and I went to watch the fireworks, ate out with dear friends, went to a “rock” show of sorts, walked a lot because there were people everywhere and routes were re-directed, had lemonade in a bar (yeah, you can laugh away but it’s true!) and finished teh BFG by Roald Dahl and slept at 5 in the morning.
    I am writing down my wishlist as well though I realize there is a bit pending from last year.
    Btw, the first song I heard was Jailhouse Rock. And am not even guessing.

    Like

  9. oh what a lovely lovely lovely way to get in the new year eh?

    Loved this post …made me feel so calm and nice πŸ™‚

    Balance achieved 80% thats great TGND..seriously great!

    Like

  10. Happy New year TGND! Hope this year is “better” than the last and you get to achieve most or all of your resolutions. We had a quiet NY eve and day – after the kids came back from chennai, I was happy to spend time cuddling with them and talking to them.

    Like

  11. What a lovely, thoughtful post! Even though I LOVE music, I never thought to remember the first song I hear in the new year, but will hopefully remember that for 2014! It sounds as if you had a perfect New Year’s Eve.

    My blog-related resolution (as noted in my post) is to read more, and I put this into practice on the very first day of 2013. (I could have said instead, “read more, write more”, but I wanted to make my resolution as “simple” as possible; and I do think writing stems naturally from reading.)

    WISHING YOU AND YOUR READERS A VERY HAPPY AND HEALTHY NEW YEAR!

    Like

  12. Inspiring for me. A very Happy new year to you and the OH. πŸ™‚ I am also planning to write down some action items for me this year to remind me again and again of what I want to do.

    Like

  13. Happy new year TGND and family, that was a good way to ring in the new year.. Well I was at a party to thats where the new years arrived with friends-family and Fun ..

    No new year resolutions other than one , that may god grant me the wisdom to be a good human being.. thats about it ..

    and all the best for the BALANCE πŸ™‚ err there is show company new balance will their shoes help HE he he he he πŸ™‚

    Have a great year both you and your OH, my regards to him. have fun and god bless

    Like

    1. @Bikram

      Thank you so much, Bikram! πŸ™‚

      This year, I hope to achieve ‘betterment’ in many spheres of my life. ‘Balance’ was for last year.

      I didn’t get what you were saying about the new show. 😦

      Like

    2. @Bikram

      And, yes, that new year resolution of yours is beautiful. You are a good human being already, from what I know of you. May you find betterment in that the way you want to, in the year that lies ahead. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

