Bangalore festival updates

It is exhibition and festival season in Bangalore now. SO MUCH is happening, it is difficult to keep count. It is difficult to decide which event to go to, and which one to miss. Needless to say, I am all excited!!

Out of the lot, there are some events I am eagerly looking forward to go to.

~The first is the Bangalore Book Festival 2012. After a long wait, this year’s book festival is all set to be held at the Tripura Vasini, Palace Grounds. The event, to be held from December 14 to 23, will also be witness to the Bangalore Sahityotsava 2012 from December 14 to 16. The book fair, as always, is anticipated to delight book lovers in the city with its thousands and thousands of books across genres, and amazing deals and discounts. The Sahityostava will be an interesting forum for readers and wannabe writers to interact with established writers in the regional languages of India. Click here for a complete list of the various programmes to be held during the festival. This is my post on last year’s book festival.

~The 38th edition of the annual cake show is to be held at the St. Joseph’s Indian High School ground from December 14 to 30. I love visiting this exhibition every year, to see the beautiful creations based on everything from cartoon characters and monuments to contemporary issues.Ā  This year, a pentagon depicting the major religions of India is the highlight of the show. Read the Times of India’s write-up on the cake show here. And here‘s my post on last year’s cake show.

~ The Kala Madhyam Mela at the Chitrakala Parishath, which was inaugurated on December 7 and will be on till December 16. I try and visit this fair whenever possible. It is a wonderful venue to buy handicrafts from across India, witness folk song and dance performances, magic shows and puppet shows, and gorge on yummy snacks. Click here for a complete list of the performances to be held during the mela.

~Ruhaniyat, the annual festival of Sufi music, organised by Banyan Tree Events, at the Jayamahal Palace Hotel on December 15. The festival will bring together Sufi performers from across India, as well as some artists from other countries. I can’t wait to go to this event, as it promises a performance by the whirling dervishes of Turkey, something I have always wanted to see, and songs by the Bauls of Bengal. Click here for details of the event.

~ The 5th Bengaluru International Film Festival, to be held from December 20 to 27, at four locations in the city. It will present over 160 films from 50 countries! Here is a write-up on the festival by the Times of India.

~The Christmas edition of the Soul Santhe, at Temple Tree, Sahakarnagar, Hebbal, on December 23. I loved the fair the last time I visited it, and look forward to going there again. Here‘s the Soul Santhe Facebook page, where you can get more details about the upcoming event.

Anything that interests you? Any interesting event that you plan to attend? I am all ears. šŸ™‚

33 thoughts on “Bangalore festival updates

  1. Thank you thank you for this list TGND!!

    I enjoyed the cake show last year šŸ™‚

    Looking forward to visit the book festival and Soul santhe this time.

    Interesting event for me? Its year end = christmas holidays = home packed with the kids + relatives visiting. Will take the brood to one event at least šŸ˜†

    Like

    1. @Babushka

      I didn’t know it was held every year till recently. We managed to go to the concert this year, and loved it. This shall be a regular Christmas-time ritual in our home now onwards, I guess – going to Ruhaniyat. šŸ™‚

      Yes, it has been snowing for quite some time now. šŸ˜€

      Like

  2. WOW! I miss Bangalore so so so so much!
    I would love to attend each of those you mentioned – they are all so different and sound so appealing. And I just cant seem to have enough of my leave šŸ˜›

    Feels awesome to be back and catch up on all the posts šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. That will be one packed schedule if you attend all these programmes, TGND. šŸ™‚ Looking forward to reading more about these events here. And I so want to visit the Kala Madhyam mela.

    Like

    1. @Sudhagee

      Yes, yes, my weekends will be super-packed if I attend all these events. šŸ™‚

      I would have loved to attend the Kala Madhyam Mela too. Sadly, I couldn’t. It ended yesterday.

      Will post updates on the events we attended on the blog soon.

      Like

  4. TNGD… so many things happening around B’lore is it?! I never knew.. or I am so much absorbed in my crazy work life that I am not looking out for any of these… a whole lot of info you have shared… thank you so much!!! šŸ™‚ I dont think I can witness any of these, though I would like to go see many.. I should be in Chennai every weekend until my sister’s wedding now.. So probably next year šŸ™‚

    Like

  5. They all sound lovely!! Esp Ruhaniyat – I would so love to have seen them šŸ˜¦
    I love the kala madhyam mela too…its always very interesting and for some reason the same artisans have diff stuff when they exhibit in bangalore, as opposed to Delhi. I guess the cities have very diff tastes as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

