Pondy treasures

Of course, we had to pick up some souvenirs from Pondicherry to bring home with us. πŸ™‚ This was a very, very, very tough job, considering the HUGE variety of lovely stuff that you have on offer there.

Here’s what we brought home, after a lot of picking up from shelves, placing back, oohing and aahing, giving each other confused looks and panicking over prices.

From the top left picture, in clockwise order:

~A few hand-made soaps, from the boutique at Auroville – sandal, something called Nu Sandal, rice, sweet basil, apricot and lavender, and vanilla, to be precise. Can you make out I am a girl obsessed with experimenting with fragrances? I haven’t used these soaps yet, but they sure smell yummy!

~Jars of pineapple-orange marmalade, mango chutney, and orange-ginger marmalade, from the Auroville boutique. I tasted the orange-ginger marmalade at the resort that we stayed in, and fell in love with it. It has a hint of sourness, with the right amount of sweet, and a tinge of bitterness. I loved the bits of ginger and orange zest that float in this marmalade. I couldn’t resist picking up the other two flavours as well.

~Some stationery that we picked up from a shop associated with the Aurobindo Ashram – a scrapbook, a few loose sheets of letter-writing paper, notepads, and blank paper for sketching – all hand-made. I LOVE the paper products that you get at Pondicherry!

~A piece of junk jewellery that I bought off the market in the Tamilian quarters. I am not a junk jewellery person, but I love buying it all the same. πŸ™‚ I particularly liked this necklace, and felt that it is not too junk-y. I think it will go with most of my outfits.

~Citrus scent for the OH, again from the Auroville boutique. It smells divine! And.. err… it was supposed to be a Diwali gift for the OH from me, but I confess that I am the person who is using it the most! I choose to ignore the fact that it is what they call a men’s perfume.

~Some incense sticks that we bought from a shop, made by the Aurobindo Ashram. There are loads and loads of incense fragrances to choose from in this particular shop, and I had a tough time picking up fragrances that I thought I would love to smell every day – vanilla, orange blossom, myrrh, frankincense, mattipal, sandalwood, lemongrass and lavender. I am not an overly religious sort of person, but I love lighting incense sticks and earthen diyas when the mood strikes me. On some days, my house smells and looks like a temple, when I light the mattipal or sandalwood incense sticks and light all the diyas I can find. On other days, I take in the refreshing aroma of lemongrass or lavender as I work. Some days, I love the way my house smells all cosy and romantic, when I light candles and vanilla incense sticks.

Like ’em?

28 thoughts on “Pondy treasures

    1. @Wanderlustathome

      We visited Auroville for a very short time to get a real feel of the place and what it is all about, but I was still charmed by the place. I felt it to be a place I would love to stay in for a while, too, but not sure how it works.

      Like

  1. Auroville sells a lot of handicraft and home made stuff na. We missed it when we went to Pondy. Seeing your collections and your write ups, i am yearning to go again.

    Like

  2. Ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ! Mama mia! I love all of that – everyone of that booty. Those handmade papers and perfume and soaps and jam! TGND – you have amassed a great booty!
    I want to go I want to go !
    I have been wanting to do a souvenir post for long – this is amazing stuff! πŸ™‚ Glad you shared.
    It is such a nice feeling to bring parts of yoour visit and memories home. Am such a souvenir addict! πŸ™‚ I will go to the extent of not using some or buying 2 of the same kind to preserve one πŸ˜›

    Like

    1. @Kismi

      Thank you, thank you! I am very glad you liked the post. πŸ™‚

      I can totally relate to the last line of your comment. I am like that, too. Sometimes I buy two numbers of an item, just to ensure that it lasts longer. Sometimes I don’t use certain things just to ensure that they last longer – I am trying to learn not to do that gradually. After all, things are meant to be used, not to be hoarded. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. oh yes, we do get nice quality of handmade papers in pondy, during my college days for my project, we used to get it from there.. :).. nice goodies.. in fact they sell nice facepacks too.. :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

