That day, during dinner at our house

I couldn’t take my eyes off her that day, during dinner at our house. I was captivated by her milky white skin, her perfect features and her soft, soft hair. The diamonds that glittered in her ears drew my attention. I was entranced by her beautiful, manicured hands, and her deep red nail polish that was the exact shade of her lipstick. The elegant way in which she moved her fork and knife and daintily picked at her food mesmerised me.

I couldn’t take my eyes off her that day, and marvel at how smart and beautiful she had turned out in life – quite the street-smart businesswoman, so different from me.  And, to think that she and I had been so similar, soul sisters, in fact, back in our college days! My mind couldn’t stop wandering to those days, and comparing her then and now.

I loved her all the more for laughing with me the same way she used to back in college. Internally, she hasn’t changed one bit in these 6 years, I thought. I was glad I had bumped into her at the supermarket a week ago, and invited her over for dinner.

She seemed to like Jim too, and complimented him on what a wonderful pair we made and what a lovely house we kept.

If only I had come out of my reverie that day, during dinner at our house, I would have noticed that Jim was mesmerised by her, too. Completely, utterly, smitten. 

*******************************

For the week’s prompt over at Magpie Tales.

It has been a long time since I have attempted fiction, so please to pardon me if I have gotten a little rusty! 🙂

42 thoughts on “That day, during dinner at our house

  1. Heylo there!

    Okay, now it’s official. You’ve made a stalker out of me! I am one of your hundreds of silent readers. And I cannot tell you how much I love this particular piece. I keep coming back to it, I have read it at least 10 times!

    P.S. We share the same theme! 🙂 You have great choice, I must say! 😉

    Like

    1. @Dreamer

      Thank you so much! 🙂 Glad you liked the post.

      But why be a stalker? You are most welcome to leave your comments on any post that you like or do not like. 🙂

      Like

      1. Stalker-ish attitude can be attributed to my laziness! 😀
        But talent and focus like yours deserves appreciation! So rest assured, you will see my foot print from now on! 🙂

        Like

      2. @Dreamer

        Talent and focus? Bwwwahhaaaaa

        Thank you, anyways! 🙂 Looking forward to your comments. 🙂

        Like

      3. Having the energy to post consistently certainly qualifies as focus! I am trying to do it, but never happens! 🙂

        Like

  2. Ahh….you’ve changed your blog theme, header is really eye catching…I like this tale, though I want to hit that Jim on head..thwak from me!

    Like

  3. It is time to visit the beauty parlour before it is too late. 🙂 Really, what is it with humans and outer beauty? What if miss smarty lady is the saddest person on the planet?

    Like

Leave a Reply

