What do you do when….

…. your tailor stitches the dress material that your husband got you for your birthday, after much fussing over and choosing, wrong? What if he makes the salwar out of the material for the top, and the top out of the material for the salwar?

I gritted my teeth and fretted and fumed, but the tailor has his own justifications, none of which make sense to me.

On second thoughts, the dress doesn’t look so bad – he has stitched it perfectly. Just that it isn’t what I had in mind for it.

Oh, well. This is probably what they mean when they say: ‘When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.’

Gah.

PS: Post inspired by the ‘What do you do when…’ series about the mundane and not-so-mundane things in life on this blog, which I am beginning to love.

49 thoughts on “What do you do when….

    1. @Scribby

      Yes, that is just what I did. Threw a little tantrum, but wore the dress ultimately, and liked it too. πŸ™‚

      And, yes, I did buy a couple more dress materials when I was in Ahmedabad. Looking forward to getting them stitched.

      Like

  1. My Tailor ruined my daughters and my outfit….told her to make a Anarkali ended up with a A-line dress and part of my design cut off. She refuses to pay for her mistake….what do i do and who can i complain to..PLEASE HELP!!!!

    Like

  2. One ‘memorable’ attire to adorn your wardrobe linked with 3 people πŸ˜›

    At the end of the day, no matter he goofed up, but still the fitting is perfect, right? So as ME says, if you pair it up with a salwar which will balance the designs, the labor is not wasted.

    Like

    1. @Visha

      Yes, it is going to be a memorable attire all right! πŸ˜›

      That is exactly the plan. I need to find a pyjama and dupatta to match the floral top. What do I do with the floral dupatta and plain pyjama remains a puzzle.

      Like

  3. Phew glad that it fits well atleast. Su had gone hunting for a particular red and when he found it and was really high on it, the tailor stitched it so badly that it could not even be repaired 😦

    U reminded me of the time when I was addicted to this ‘What do u do when’ too πŸ˜›

    Like

  4. This is just heights of your tailor using his high imagination. How could be reverse it!?!? 😯
    Since its not looking so bad.. Your dress is saved. Its going to be remembered as your husband got it for you and your tailor goofed it up πŸ˜›
    I am sure you will have lots of scope to shop in Ahm πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I have never ever had a dress tailored without the need for endless adjustments 😦
    So you are lucky on the most important front πŸ˜€
    As far the tailor using his imagination, all I can say is, tell me about it. I have had necklines changed, strings attached and all kinds of fancy experiments done by my tailor in the name of, he thought that would make the outfit prettier.

    But like you, I too stick to my tailor for one big reason, he never delays and the time he quotes is when I always get my dresses ready to wear πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. @My Era

      I have had my designs altered a lot of times too, but I stick to this tailor because the clothes stitched by him fit me really well. He makes even an ordinary piece of cloth into a lovely dress.

      Tell me about tailors using their own imagination! My tailor is after me now to get a dress with a looooong zip stitched. I have been denying it. πŸ˜€

      Oh, my tailor also delays my clothes – sometimes interminably.

      Like

      1. No, I am yet to come across a good one. Even the seemingly good ones turn bad after a while. Sigh. Maybe it’s just me. I’m jinxed when it comes to tailors. I actually prefer ill fitting ready-made clothes these days.

        Like

  6. this always happens to me yar.. the tailor always puts in his idea and forget what i told. :(.. so nice that ur hubby got u dress.. mine just says i will pay , u select what u want to avoid such things.. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Ashreyamom

      Hee hee. My tailor almost always stitches my dresses in his own way. So, I have stopped giving him ideas. πŸ˜€

      Hubby only paid for my dress, too. He just came with me to the shop, and helped me choose. He didn’t buy it on his own. That is too much to expect. πŸ˜€

      Like

  7. Oh god…Ur tailor obviously decided that floral dupatta and top would look good together πŸ™‚
    Hey, maybe u’ll start a new trend.
    Atleast he stitched it well. My tailor stitched my wedding blouses for someone twice my size – I looked as though I was a big bird with wings!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Aparna

      Hopefully, I should be able to mix and match the kurta and salwar and do something good with it. πŸ™‚

      LOL @ big bird with wings

      Some of my wedding clothes were also ruined. I took a chance and went to another tailor – I should have gone to this one, goof-up or no goof-up, he stitches really well.

      Like

  8. hehehehe really?
    It reminded me of those plain top and floral pyjamas that were in trend a while back and it was always so confusing deciding which would look better! πŸ˜› But your tailor’s goof up is one in a hundred! But I know what you mean by going back to the same person. Mine delays a lot sometimes too but I have stuck to him like a leech – love his work! πŸ™‚
    This is a cute post πŸ™‚

    Like

      1. Perk up the look of this dress by using a chudidaar to go with the floral Kurta.
        That way you’ll pull away attention from the disaster and even the most experienced women will fail to note that the order is reversed, for designs of chudidaars are tough to appreciate.

        Besides, I personally love the grace chudidaars add πŸ˜€

        Like

    1. @Amit

      Really? My tailor is quite famous for such stuff. I have been a victim a couple more times, too. But the end result is actually good, in spite of such goof-ups, so I keep going to him. πŸ˜€ The OH, of course, does not understand why. πŸ˜€

      Like

      1. Geet had a part of her kurti bleached once by mistake by the tailor. He gave her the money for that kurti but she still goes to him. So, I can understand. It is hard to find good tailors and husbands. So you stick to them even if they are mildly annoying. πŸ˜›

        Like

  9. 1. Ask the hubby to get you readymade clothes from next time?
    2. Wear it as is it, who knows it may become a new fashion trend?
    3. Keep having this postive attitude in life πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @R’s Mom

      1. I don’t get good-fitting ready-made clothes in my elephantine size. 😦
      2. Yes, I am going to wear it as it is. It doesn’t look so bad, honestly. Or maybe mix and match the kurta and salwar with other clothes.
      3. I hope I always do. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

