Mixed Vegetable Korma

I am a big, big, big fan of vegetable korma. I love eating it with ghee rice or with phulkas. Quite commonly found in restaurants all over South India, I had never tasted this dish back home at Ahmedabad. I fell in love with it the instant I had the first bite of it down South. 🙂

I had been trying and trying to get the taste of vegetable korma right. Whenever I made it at home, it always felt like something was not right. Finally, recently, I hit upon the right taste, thanks to my aunt who, by the way, is a fabulous korma maker.

Here goes the recipe that I used:

Ingredients (for 2 people):

For the gravy:

  • About 4 tablespoons of fresh, grated coconut
  • 2 green chillies
  • 7-8 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1 medium-sized onion
  • 2 medium-sized tomatoes
  • A fistful of fresh coriander leaves
  • 2-3 cloves
  • A 1-inch piece of ginger
  • A 1-inch piece of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon cumin (jeera)
  • About 2 teaspoons dry coriander seeds (dhania)
  • 1 teaspoon split chick peas (pottu kadalai)

Other ingredients:

  • Fresh coriander leaves (chopped) for the garnish
  • Salt to taste
  • Sugar to taste (optional)
  • Red chilli powder to taste (if required)
  • Turmeric powder to taste
  • 2 to 2-1/2 large cups of chopped vegetables – I used green peas, cauliflower, carrot, potatoes, French beans. You can even add moong or chana to it, or make the korma entirely out of moong or chana instead of adding vegetables
  • About 2 teaspoons sambar powder
  • About 2 teaspoons of thick curd
  • A tablespoon of oil
  • A pinch of asafoetida (hing)

Method:

1. Dice the tomatoes and onions. Cut the green chillies into two or three pieces each. Grind all the ingredients for the gravy together in a mixer, adding a little water. Keep aside.

2. Heat the oil in a pressure cooker and add the asafoetida. When it sizzles, add the gravy. Let it cook for a while, till the raw smell goes away.

3. Add salt and turmeric powder to the gravy as per your taste, and sugar and red chilli powder (if using). Mix well.

4. Add the chopped vegetables and sambar powder and stir well.

5. Add the curd and mix well.

6. Let everything cook together for about a minute, add just a little water (not too much!), then close the cooker. Let cook for 3 whistles or 5 minutes, and switch off the gas immediately. There, the korma is done! Garnish it with chopped, fresh coriander leaves.

Notes: 

  1. Instead of making the korma in a pressure cooker, you can even make it in a kadhai or pan. In that case, it would take a bit more time to cook.
  2. You could substitute the sambar powder with garam masala, for an entirely different taste.
25 thoughts on “Mixed Vegetable Korma

  1. I try this TGND – usually when I have one of each vegetable and am clueless what to make 😛 I make it pretty much similarly but add a bit of garam masala and had used cashew paste once for some thickness.
    I have also used channa but never moong. I think I will try that 🙂 Also, I have made it in a kadhai as well after pressure-cooking the veggies.
    I love it with just about anything – hot rice topped with ghee or phulkas or just a spoon everytime I pass by the kitchen 😛

    Like

    1. @Kismi

      I make it when I have a little bit of everything, too, and am clueless what to do with it. 🙂

      I tried it out with garam masala, but I love the sambar powder flavour better… And I like it with anything too – from ghee rice to rotis and dosas. 🙂

      Like

  2. I have never added sambhar powder to anything except sambhar 🙂 I have never had Korma before. This sounds and looks good… will try making it sometime 🙂

    Like

    1. @Lifesong

      Sambar powder tastes good in a few dishes, other than sambar. 🙂 I am not sure about store-bought sambar powder, but the one that my mom makes sure does add a lot of taste. 😀

      Do try this out sometime, and don’t forget to let me know how it turned out. 🙂

      Like

  3. I love veg korma too!! Love it with phulkas for dinner and the rest of the korma goes into the refrigerator. In the morning, I would let it boil for 5-10 mins and it tastes awesome with dosas! I always plan veg korma preparation only if I have dosa batter for the morning 😀

    I will also add pudina leaves to the gravy (that goes into grinding) and dont add sambar powder (my mom never used it and I love the distinctive taste of her recipe)

    Like

  4. Errr…NOW my Appa has been cheating me for so many years…he told me vegetable korma was avial used the next day of Vishu, since Amma made excess, he would fry some onions and tomatoes and put the avial in it and present it as vegetable korma….

    *Rushes to call up Appa and demand the truth from him*

    Like

  5. I like it too…some years down the line I had learnt making it for I never usually cook veges with sambhar powder. This one is a delightful recipe 😀
    Yummy indeed 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

