Suggestions, please!

There’s a long weekend coming up, and I am in panic mode. Both of us were busy till today and haven’t made any plans for the weekend. I don’t want the weekend to just disappear like that, and have nothing to show in return. I also don’t want to go to the places that we always visit – malls, markets and the like. I am looking for unique, different, off-the-beaten track places that we can cover in or around Bangalore in the next three days. Something that is quiet and relaxing and not touristy. Even unique places in Bangalore like Sutradhar are fine… we can make three one-day trips. Any ideas?

*******************************

My nephew’s birthday is coming up in September. We need to shop for a gift for him, and are desperately out of ideas. He is a 11-year-old, running on 12, deeply interested in space, the world around us, science, reading and writing. We have exhausted all the ‘different’ gift ideas that we had – a science kit, books that he loves, a scrapbook kit and so on. I don’t want to give him clothes and games that he is never going to use anyways. Help, please!

44 thoughts on “Suggestions, please!

  1. Hey TGND, need some advice. We are planning a trip to ahmedabad and gir. How many days will we need in ahd and have u ever been to gir and do u have any suggestions for places to stay in both places? Thanks in advance πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. @Aparna

      Oh, wow. Ahmedabad! Makes me all nostalgic! πŸ™‚

      Ahmedabad – well, there are different facets to it. Depends on what you want to see. If you just want to shop and do the touristy things, I think 3 full days would be enough. A week if you would like to do more.

      I have never stayed in a hotel or helped anyone book a hotel in Ahmedadbad, so sorry, no suggestions there. But I have heard Hotel Pinnacle is good – reasonably priced, neat and centrally located.

      I have never been to Gir, so have no idea about it. 😦

      Do let me know if you need any other suggestions for sightseeing/hotels/must-do things. Will be happy to find out and let you know.

      Like

      1. Thanks TGND! I’ll check out hotel pinnacle tho one of my favourite hotel chains – neemrana – has a property in Ahd as well – that would be my first choice πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Would it be a bad idea to ask your nephew what he wants? I know it kills the surprise factor, but then at that age we have certain irreplaceable desires and he might just be grateful to you for getting him soemthing he’s been wanting for long..

    Like

    1. @Pepper

      Errr… I really never thought of that!

      Yes, I agree, it might be a good idea to actually ask him what he wants for his birthday! He might have certain dreams for himself that might be hidden from us! Thank you, Pepper!

      Like

  3. I wish I had any idea at all, TGND, but I can see that you do have a lot of suggestions here πŸ™‚

    As for your nephew, I had seen some really intricate and complicated lego stuff -not sure how much he likes that sort of stuff- but its loads of fun πŸ™‚ You get all sorts of sets- from making houses to planes -and it’s complicated, so it keeps your interest.

    Like

  4. Taking off from a suggestion for Birmingham, my place wouldn’t be so bad too! πŸ™‚ And apparently this weekend is supposed to be the best weather this year according to the folks here, who have been going on non-stop about it, only for me to find out what they mean by the best weather is 30 degrees sans rain – they only have to come down to our place to find out πŸ™‚ I would prefer the local ‘true’ weather though..

    On another note, I do have certain ideas for the space-and-science interested kid, especially since you said space..will share details soon..brother was interested a lot in space as a kid and it rubbed off on me too, and I know a telescope would mean a lot – not the kind that comes along with science kits, but a more proper one, its available these days for not too much, as well..or even a nice lens (which is the main ingredient for a telescope) would do, along with a small book that explains how to build one’s own telescope – me and bro did that with ordinary water pipes and good quality lenses (although it involved lots of reading and work! )and could see even the nice craters of the moon πŸ™‚

    There is a book suitable even for children – the series of astronomy books by Patrick Moore..even someone with a 4th or 5th grade person not interested in astronomy at all would be hooked to it, just by his writing style. Observer’s guide to astronomy, Guide to the Moon etc – any of those would be wonderful for a space lover..

    Ok, I just wanted to write shortly and share details later..but I am getting all nostalgic, talking of astronomy liking 😦 Its a long time since either of us even did something like that, now I want to talk about it 😦 But I do know several kids that age love astronomy and if its nicely guided, it could be a wonderful experience for the child, I can say that, having experienced it with my brother, although I was a bit old by then ! Possibly will have other such ideas too for a space-lover..shall see..

    Sorry for such a long comment !

    Sathej

    Like

    1. @Sathej

      I will definitely come to your place… maybe not now,but surely sometime later. πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for all the suggestions. Certainly appreciate them. I am sure they will be helpful. Awaiting your e-mail. Please do let me know details about buying a telescope.

      Like

  5. I am going to say books too like a few others πŸ™‚ Never fail! something that suits his interest, Sandhya’s recommendations seem very appropriate!
    Does OH enjoy window shopping with you? Very unlikely but just asking πŸ˜‰ If that works then you could visit Indiranagar – check out The Orange bicycle, Yellow button and Chilli Billi stores for that something fun something eclectic. Then hop over to Chaipatty Teafe for some chai and snacks/lunch and some lovely ambience! Or you could have lunch at the 100 ft restaurant in Indiranagar. Close the evening by checking out Sutradhar.
    Towards a different side of town, you could catch a play in Ranga Shankara if that works for you!

    Like

    1. @Simrand

      Welcome here! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the suggestions! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Yes, the OH happens to be one of those rare males who does not mind accompanying me while I am window shopping or shopping, for that matter. He is quite happy about it, too, even though he usually does not do it on his own. πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. @Sandhya

      Hey, thank you so much! πŸ™‚

      Acres Wild sounds wonderful – just the kind of place that we would like to go to. Will see if we can go.

      I will check out the books, too.

      Thanks again for the recommendations. They are truly ‘different’. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. I can’t suggest much about b’lore, but i remember that Mysore is nearby, if interested you can try that. Or go to a resort with friends and chill out.
    For the gift: if the last science kit you gave was not a model plane making kit, then you can give that to him as he is into space and science he will sure love it. They have different options like simple mechanical and advanced electronic model planes.
    I bought one in Ahmedabad, i think they take mail orders also, but not sure about Banglore.
    There was also a book on model plane building (i don’t remember the name though). if he doesn’t have any book on model plane building then you can think about that also.

    Like

    1. @Techie2mom

      Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

      A plane-making kit sounds like fun! I am sure he will love it! Let me see if I can find one here!

      We have been to Mysore, but there are a lot of places there we haven’t seen. If nothing else works out, we might head out there. πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. @Lifesong

      I am so sorry, I don’t know how all your comments landed up in spam. I managed to retrieve them.

      Thank you so much for the suggestions! πŸ™‚ We are in Bangalore only for this weekend, but would surely love to implement your suggestions some other time! πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. @Aparna

      Chikmagalur is done…

      All of your other options sound lovely! πŸ™‚ Thank you!

      The problem is – the OH is working tomorrow, and will not be able to take a leave. So, we have only Sunday and Monday left. I think it would become too hectic to try and cover any of these places in just two days, hai na?

      Like

      1. Yelagiri is definitely doable.What abt pondicherry?
        Another interesting option is to drive down to melkote. It’s on the way to mysore. It has a lovely narsimha temple perched on top of a hill and the walk up there is great with nice views. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Melukote
        If u need any persuasion, on the way to melkote, u can stop at maddur and taste the famous maddur vadas!

        Like

      2. @Aparna

        Pondicherry is done, but I would definitely love to go back there again. However, I would love to have a couple more days for that – we spent a full five days there the last time we went and loved the experience.

        I will check out Yelagiri. and Melkote sounds wonderful too. Thank you once again!

        Maddur vadas – yumm yumm! πŸ™‚ I have heard that Maddur has a wonderful market too, where you get those quaint dolls and all.

        Like

  7. 1. Coorg?? Amma Appa went there a couple of years ago *Rolls eyes, some really delayed honeymoon eh?* they were raving about the beauty..not too far from Bangalore na?

    check out Shruti’s blog (http://www.artsycraftsymom.com/) I remember she had done some place near Bangalore a couple of years ago..cant get the right link but perhaps you can search on her blog?

    Errr….take an old bedsheet, take three sticks…tie them at them top together and place it in the drawing room, put the bed sheet over it. Get into it..ensure it . ORder for Chinese on Saturday morning, greet the guy with love so that he is ready to delivery on Monday morning as well….and continue ordering different cuisines every time you want to eat….get a bunch of books, you can even have a fake campfire by putting some orange veshtis together….dont talk to each other, grunt like the cave men..and read to the fullest…free entertainment eh? ;_

    2. Books..those are the best option pata hai..at least they will read once and get done with it!! may be the Harry Potter ones??

    Like

    1. @R’s Mom

      I LOVE your idea for the long weekend, RM. Seriously. Only my MIL and maid would have a fit to see us like that. πŸ˜€

      What is with the orange veshtis, huh?

      I have been to Coorg, and loved it! πŸ™‚

      Will check out Shruti’s blog. Thank you so much!

      Yeah, books is what I am leaning towards, too. πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. Well you wont agree to what i suggest .. but here it goes ..
    Tonight take a flight to birmingham πŸ™‚ you will be here about 9AM.. then leave the rest to me .. On monday I can leave you both at airport and you will be in bangalore by midnight.. Ready to go to work on tuesday ..

    Lots of lovely places to see here and the weather is also lovely these days πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

