Tales from our kitchen and of the OH

Me (to OH): I think I will make some bhel poori for a snack. Will you have some?

OH (all excited, like a kid): Yes, yes, yes. Please make it. I would love to have some.

Me (frantically searching the kitchen): Where is the pori (puffed rice) that I bought last week?

OH: Oh, I ate that up bit by bit.

Me: I got some ompudi (sev) too. Do you know where it is?

OH: Errrr.. there is only a little bit of it left. I mixed it with the pori while I ate it.

Me: Grrrrr

OH: Do you need the mixture too? The one that you bought last week? (Pulls out the pack of mixture that I had earlier bought with the intention of making some chaat. The pack in question is pulled out of some random dabba in the kitchen, not at all where I had put it, and there are a few morsels of mixture stuck to the bottom)

Me: Let me guess, you mixed that too in the pori, along with the ompudi, when you had it?

OH: Errrr…. yes. OK, I know you are craving for home-made bhel poori now, and you will not be at peace till you have it. I want some too. I will pick up some pori, ompudi and mixture from the neighbourhood grocery store. (Grabs a bag and rushes out, yelling ‘I’ll be back in 15 minutes)

And, true to his word, he was back with the raw materials in 15 minutes, the bhel poori was indeed made and duly relished.

******************************

OH (to me): You enjoy blogging a lot, don’t you?

Me: Yes, I do. I love blogging. I love the interaction with fellow bloggers. I love how it gives me a platform to share my thoughts about anything and everything.

OH: I am thinking of starting a blog, too…

Me: (Stunned silence. The OH, being the OH, has always been as dispassionate about blogs and anything to do with art or creativity or writing as I am passionate about these things)

Me (recovering sufficiently): And what are you going to call it?

OH: The boy next to the girl next door… or That girl’s boy… or some such.

Me: !!!!!!!!!

******************************

I am busy making rasam in the kitchen when the OH strolls over to me.

Me: OH, can you please pass me the puli (tamarind in Tamil)?
OH (looking up and down in the kitchen cabinet): I can’t spot it.

I go over to the cabinet, fetch the tamarind jar and hurriedly take some out of it.

OH: Oh, you wanted tamarind, is it? I was looking for a tiger (also ‘puli’ in Tamil, though the pronunciation is slightly different from the tamarind ‘puli’). I was wondering how you caught it in a bottle.

*Goes on to guffaw*

******************************

Yesterday, I cooked a pakka Tamilian meal complete with araithu-vitta sambar, thogayal, curry and rice, which was much loved by the OH.

OH: This is the exact taste of sambar that I wanted. Neither my mom’s nor your mom’s sambar has this taste, but I wanted exactly this. How did you figure out the taste that I had in mind? I never told you about it!

Me: *Rolls eyes*

And that, folks, is the best example of ‘Kulhadi pe pair maarna’. 😦

34 thoughts on “Tales from our kitchen and of the OH

  1. Oh, this makes me laugh! And eating all the raw materials for a dish I wanted to make is definitely something my husband would do (and has done in the past), so I can sympathize!

    Like

  2. All the guys love to make their wife/girlfriend laugh. πŸ™‚
    A few days back, I titled my wife Sudoku ki Rani because she is crazy about playing Sudoku on her Iphone and then I went on to put her in the next Olympics where they would have introduced Sudoku as a new sport.
    I think his blog name is great. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. haha. can’t wait to read the hilarious new blog πŸ˜‰ when is he starting?

    your meal description makes me want to go running to amma and have her pamper me with all that you’ve mentioned you prepared 😦

    Like

  4. Such cute incidents πŸ™‚ hehehehehe – I was laughing madly reading that incident about puLi and your OHs blog πŸ˜‰ I would be the one talking like OH πŸ˜‰
    Hehehehe at the eating off the raw ingredients – that’s just every single home’s story. I do it too :p very sweet of him to get the ingredients in a jiffy, though !
    I love reading these lil stories of yours TGND. P,s tell your OH to keep his pjs cming coz we totally enjoy listening to his lines here πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. So OH had semi-bhelpuri himself bits by bits!!!!

    “The boy next to the girl next door… or That girl’s boy” This is soooo sweet πŸ™‚

    Hey, in Telugu also they call the tiger Puli no?! That is why the name Puli-hora as the Pulihora has the same coloure as the tiger!!!

    So, now you will be making this Sambar frequently?!?

    Like

    1. @Techie2mom

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Yes, in Tamil also, puli means tiger. It also means tamarind, if spoken with a slight twist of the tongue.

      I didn’t know this logic behind puliyogare being the same colour as a tiger. Thanks for enlightening me! πŸ˜€

      Yes, I think I will be making the sambar frequently now. πŸ™‚ I love the compliments, and I love to see the smile on his face when he comes to know that I have made it. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Would love to read the boy next to the girl next door πŸ˜›
    And you figured out how to make the sambhar of the exact taste he wanted. Tell me the trick too πŸ™‚ But seriously he knows how to give you compliments πŸ™‚
    You are a sweet couple… may you always have such times in your kitchen πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. You guys are really really cute! Stay blessed and happy always πŸ™‚

    Loved reading all the incidents πŸ™‚ You know what.. incident one repeats in GB-dom too. Mixture, Ompudi, chips everything vanish quickly without even leaving a trace.. πŸ™‚

    incident two – OH is really really cute. I had a nice laugh for boy next to girl next door πŸ˜†

    Incident three – S cracks these kind of “mokka” jokes too. If I am too hungry.. I will go grrrr else, we have a hearty laugh πŸ˜€

    Incident four- happens here too πŸ™‚

    I am now drooling over the menu you just mentioned. Its been ages I did araithu vitta sambar.. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Greenboochi

      Thank you, GB! πŸ™‚

      I was thinking of that post of yours about S when I wrote this – the one where I commented for the first time and mentioned that you and S are so eerily similar to me and the OH. πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. Cute name for the blog. Love it!
    Your husband is given to making PJs is it? :))
    I am so impressed with the way he headed out to buy the ingredients for the bhelpuri!

    Like

    1. @Aparna

      Hee hee. PJs is the OH’s middle name. You’ll come to know if you read my other posts about the OH. His PJs are the reason I decided to dedicate a category on my blog to the OH. πŸ™‚

      Yeah, he is cute that way. πŸ™‚ Moreover, he was craving for the bhel poori too. πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. boy nest door?? he should name as “boy who lives with girl next door” or “eating in girl next door” :).. this happens in my kitchen too, when i am searching for something, it is already eaten up.. :).. wow sapadu.. yes, i can make it up for all this, as i am going to chennai this weekend for 10 days.. πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. waiting waiting waiting for the boy next to the girl next door’s blog :):)

    RD is worse you know, he keeps the khali wrappers inside teh dabba, so when I look, I am like acha poori toh hai, and when I open at the last minute, its all over..gah!

    LOL on Pooli πŸ™‚

    Baap rey, you made a pakka tamil sadi food eh?

    Like

    1. @R’s Mom

      Arre.. this man too leaves the khali packets inside the dabbas.. That’s all I usually find when I am searching for something.

      He cracks the poorest of jokes when I am neck-deep into something!

      Yes, once in a while, I do feel up to making a complete South Indian meal. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

