Would You Like Some Bread With That Book?

I first heard of Veena Venugopal’s Would You Like Some Bread With That Book? on Sangitha’s blog. Her review and the title of the book sold it to me. After a bit of research at some bookstores, I ordered it on Flipkart and finally got my hands on it. I have to say, I LOVED the experience of reading this book!

Would You Like Some Bread With That Book? is a collection of 14 essays – all about the joys and follies of reading, books and bookstores and writers. Every imaginable aspect of reading is covered in this text, be it the re-discovery of a book on re-reading, Twitter and Facebook making writers all-too-easy to meet, the thrill of reading ‘forbidden’ books and mysterious love in the aisles of libraries and bookshops. There are even chapters on reading during a mountain-climbing expedition,  reading in the Mumbai locals, and reading during pregnancy.

The book is written in simple and flowing prose, and it is easy to read it within a day’s time. However, the emotions that it invokes are many. Being the bookworm that I am,  I could perfectly relate to each and every word of the author’s, and thoroughly enjoyed the journey with her.

From the back cover of the book:

If you really think about it, there are only two kinds of people: those who spend the week before a trek to the Everest base camp training and eating right, and those who lie in bed agonizing over which book should make it into their backpack. Would You Like Some Bread With That Book? is about this second group of people.

Very true in my case! 🙂

If you too, like me, love books and the myriad things associated with them, do grab a copy of Would You Like Some Bread With That Book? I am sure you will love it, too!

19 thoughts on “Would You Like Some Bread With That Book?

      1. not all done but packed schedule you see 😉 I had set a target to finish reading 21 books but then lowered it down to 15..and 5 months are down and I’m done with 8 books…so you know what I mean by next year’s reading list,eh? 🙂

        Like

  1. What a title ! I’d love to read this one as well.
    “a collection of 14 essays – all about the joys and follies of reading, books and bookstores and writers” – You’ve sold it to me ! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

