The one in which we try some new fruits

One of the items on my bucket list includes trying as many different kinds of fruits and cuisines as possible. Both the OH and I love doing this, and hence, this is one item on the list that is never-ending and never going to be crossed off. πŸ™‚

So, we did get to try some new varieties of fruits over the last week, all thanks to Spar Hypermarket. I love the store for bringing so many lovely brands that I had only read about till now under one roof in India, but that I will write about in a different post.

We tried two new fruits – new to us, I mean.

The first one is rambutan.

I admit I was a little put off by the hairy appearance of the fruit, and the difficulty in peeling it open due to its slightly hard skin. However, once we had popped the fruit inside in our mouths, we became fans. The rambutan tastes just like the litchi, only that it is a little less sweeter and a little harder as compared to a litchi.

Then, we tried some cherries.

Both the OH and I had had cherry shakes and eaten dried cherries in fruit cakes, but we had never really tasted the fresh fruit. I loved the way they look, sleek and red and shiny, almost stylish. However, I was kind of disappointed with the taste. 😦

Maybe not a big deal, but we valued both of these new experiences and were excited like school kids to find these fruits at Spar. The next time we visit, we plan to try out some more new fruits!

And, while we are on the subject of fruits, don’t forget to try out the litchis that are selling in Bangalore now. They’re scrumptilicious! πŸ™‚

29 thoughts on “The one in which we try some new fruits

  1. you are so sweet..I get to know so many trees,flowers and now fruits too all because of you πŸ™‚

    the first one,the rambutan,looks like hairy litchi no? πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. @Sangitha

    Oh, is it? The ones that we have seen here in some departmental stores are quite green in colour. 😦

    What is guacamole? Have read about it in Frances Mayes’s books, but haven’t figured out what it is!

    Like

  3. Ah TGND,

    You posted this ! πŸ™‚ I am yet to try rambutan. I see them everywhere in SG and I wonder when I will try them. K and I are also oft on such missions and you inspire me to do a post ! πŸ™‚

    I looooooooooove litchis. I am like “litchi drink, litchi this and litchi that” and sometimes satisfy my craving by dunking in litchis in sugar syrup. Mangosteens are yum and I echo Arch above – avocado is super too !

    Like

    1. @Kismi

      Yes, I posted this. πŸ™‚ Why don’t you do a post on your experiences too? I am sure it would be fun to read them. πŸ™‚

      I have somehow always been wary of buying avocados, though I have seen them being sold a lot of times in Spar. Looks like I should pick them up soon. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Avocado buying is important – you need to get some that have started turning dark but not all over, they can’t be very soft. Guacamole….aaaah, have to go find some now! It’s the best kind of fat – healthy fat.

        Like

  4. I love rambutans πŸ™‚ I was on a similar mission when I first reached SG. So far, tried half a dozen new ones. See, if you can get – star fruit, mangosteen. Avacados and Litchies are my first love πŸ˜›

    Such a pretty pic of the cherries.

    Like

    1. @Arch

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Yes, we do get avocados, star fruit and mangosteen here. I have tried the mangosteen and star fruit earlier, but it was so long back that I don’t even remember how they tasted. Should do that again. πŸ™‚

      Oh, and I LOVE litchis. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. wow, the Rambutans look scary…But probably it is a reminder to us that the appearance can be deceptive and we should not judge a book by its cover, or a fruit by it’s skin πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Hi,
    I’m not sure where these cherries are from, but they will be sour if they are red. Truly sweet cherries are dark red or burgundy in colour. Trust me, I have spent 4 summers picking them in the Californian sun and consuming them by the kilo. I’ve heard natures basket has good fruits too, do try them and give your feedback πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Aparna

      Oh okay… Thanks for the tip. Will look out for burgundy cherries now! πŸ™‚

      We visited Nature’s Basket yesterday. There were a lot of food products from across the globle, including some fresh fruits, but frightfully expensive. We just bought one bottle of Sriracha sauce and a Lindt chocolate. I find Spar better in terms of variety (they have both Indian and international varieties of fruits) and in terms of prices too.

      Like

  7. I’ve had the rambutan when I visited Kutralam in tamil nadu. It was delightfully yummy! I especially remember having fun with them because you can close up the shell to make it look like a whole new fruit. So we had a good time fooling people by offering them empty fruit. πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to try the litchi now.

    Like

    1. @Sumitra

      Oh, wow, I didn’t know rambutans were available in India!

      LOL @ close up the shell to make it look like a whole new fruit. Same story here! πŸ˜€

      You haven’t had litchi? :O They’re like splashed everywhere across Bangalore these days, lady. Grab a bunch before the season runs out!

      Like

  8. SPAR is where I do my monthly shopping. Am glad they stock many veggies that i don’t get anywhere else. I also luv shopping at Godrej’s Nature Basket πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Swaram

      Yup, I love the variety of fruits and vegetables that Spar has. Sometimes, I find exotic stuff there, which I don’t find anywhere else.

      Haven’t been to Godrej Nature’s Basket. Should check it out sometime. Is it a bakery or a departmental store?

      Like

  9. Nice! Had the fruit before when my parents lived in parts of South East Asia. Didn’t know we get it here.

    I think we’re all used to cherries that are completely soaked in sugar. A fresh fruit smoothie with a lot of cherries that’s frozen in a kulfi mould will convert you.

    Like

    1. @Sangitha

      I haven’t seen rambutan available here. Last week, found it in Spar by chance, and picked it up since we both had always wanted to try it out.

      Maybe you are right about the cherries soaked in sugar part. I love cherry smoothie and icecream and cake, but didn’t like the taste of the fresh cherries so much.

      Like

  10. So don’t these fresh cherries taste like the cut ones we normally get ?? Would love to try those rambutans when back..though they kind of look scary πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. @Aame

      Yes, yes, the rambutans do look scary. Actually once I had kept them in the fridge, and got scared when I opened the fridge and saw them the next day. 😦 But they taste yummylicious. So don’t go by the looks.

      Do you mean the cherries that are dried and soaked in sugar syrup? I don’t like them either; they are too syrupy sweet for my taste. The natural fruit tastes a bit less sweet and is a little sour. The husband liked them, but my tastebuds didn’t savour them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

