Of foodie memories and more

Today, I brought a little bit of Ahmedabad home – I prepared, for breakfast, Sabudana Khichdi, something that has fond memories of my hometown associated with it. As far as I know, Sabudana Khichdi is a Maharashtrian dish, but it is hugely popular in Ahmedabad too,commonly eaten as a ‘farali‘ snack on days of fasting (with sea salt instead of the regular salt, and a few other minor variations, I am guessing). I have seen people chowing it down with so much relish that I would ask them if they fasted just to get to eat this Khichdi. And who’s to blame them? It indeed is a delicious dish, and both the OH and I are big fans of it.

I have seen a lot of variations of this recipe; each family makes it in a different way. Different restaurants present it in different ways too – it is like bhel, where you can add anything and everything. Some people love to have their Sabudana Khichdi with pomegranate seeds and sev, while some like it with boiled potatoes. I make it using a very simple recipe that we have always used at home, which I think my grandmother learnt from a Maharashtrian friend of hers.

This is the recipe that we use:

Ingredients (for 2 people):

1-1/2 cups sago (sabudana)

Salt to taste

2 green chillies (finely chopped)

Sugar to taste

Juice of 1 lemon (or to taste)

2-3 handfuls of raw peanuts

Coriander leaves, a few (finely chopped)

1 tablespoon oil

A pinch of asafoetida

1 teaspoon turmeric powder

Red chilli powder (if required)

1 teaspoon mustard seeds

1 teaspoon cumin

Method:

1. Put the sago in a large bowl and add enough water to cover it. Let the sago soak for about 2 hours. Take care not to soak it too much, otherwise the khichdi becomes soggy and tasteless.

2. After 2 hours, put the soaked sago in a holed vessel, and set it in the sink. Let all the water drain out of it.

3. Dry roast the raw peanuts in a kadhai till their skins start turning black. When they cool a bit, remove the skins from the peanuts as far as possible. Grind the roasted peanuts to a coarse powder in the mixer.

4. Add the peanut powder to the drained sago. Add salt, sugar, turmeric powder and red chilli powder (if using) to it too. Mix well.

5. Heat the oil in a kadhai and add the asafoetida. Add the mustard seeds and let them splutter. Then, add the cumin seeds and green chillies. After about 2-3 seconds, add the sago mixture to the kadhai and mix everything well. Let it cook for about 5 minutes.

6. Add the lemon juice and mix well. Switch off the gas.

7. Garnish the khichdi with finely chopped coriander leaves and serve hot.

Have you ever tried this dish out? How do you like it served? Do let me know; I would love to know variations to this recipe.

26 thoughts on “Of foodie memories and more

    1. @Scribby

      Yes, I have seen a lot of people make this only when they are fasting, but I don’t fast at all and I love this khichdi, so I make it all the time. 🙂
      Yes, I love sabudana vada too, though I have never tried making them at home.

      Like

  1. Sabudana khichdi is an all time favorite at our home 🙂 Earlier we would make it during fasts but now I make it otherwise also as Cheebu loves this 🙂 Yesterday we had Sabudana wadas for dinner. They are equally delicious 🙂

    Like

  2. I loveeeeee sabudana khichdi! I have different recipes for this dish. During fast, its potatoes, nuts, jeera and its similar to yours. But when its not for fasting, I try and add lots and lots of things. I even add onions. It super delicious and super healthy!

    Like

  3. I love Sabudana Khichdi and make it often 😀
    I add boiled potatoes to it and never put cumin or mustard seeds.
    As far a variant, try the sabudana vadas (baked not deep fried) extremely yummy, quick to make and non greasy 😀 😀

    Like

  4. Love this 🙂 in fact I use both jeera and mustard seeds for seasoning, and it gives a diff flavour. also, if you leave the peanut skins in (assuming you don’t roast them until they turn very black), omit the turmeric — you’ll have this super pinkish brown coloured khichdi 🙂 also peanut peels contain a lot of good cholesterol..or so they say!

    Like

    1. @Chindi Chitranna

      Good cholestrol, is it? Thanks for letting me know. I will try this on with the skins intact the next time. 🙂 I just roast the peanuts a little, till their skins start turning black. I don’t let them turn very black, so I guess it should taste fine if I let the skins stay.

      Like

  5. Have never had this ever before TGND and ofcourse I will try it sometime soon, maybe next weekend ! – Need to go sago shopping 🙂
    Looks yumm ! And easy to make as well. Thanks ! 🙂

    Like

  6. Yummmmmmm even I love this one..but I do it without the turmeric…mine is kinda whitish brown and I put jeera instead of the mustard and I use ghee instead of oil…but this sure is one of my favorites

    Like

    1. @R’s Mom

      Oh, I tried it without the turmeric once, and realised that I associate the Khichdi with its brown colour. Couldn’t accept it in white. 😛

      I add both mustard and jeera (cumin), and sometimes, yes, I make it with ghee too. 🙂

      Like

    2. I do the same, and I add some boiled potatoes to it. I love it but have stopped making it because both husband and I feel very heavy when we eat it 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

