The omelette with no eggs

I first learnt about ‘the omelette with no eggs’ when we were vacationing in Matheran last year. The resort that we were staying at served this for breakfast one morning, and we loved it. ‘This is tomato omelette. No eggs, sir. Don’t worry, madam,’ the resort staff reassured us after we quizzed them on the recipe, having heard about the dish for the first time ever. It made for a hearty and delicious breakfast, and the OH and I licked our plates clean. A little bit of ‘googling’ showed us that tomato omelettes, also called ‘veg. omelettes’, are quite a popular breakfast dish in Maharashtra.

I had completely forgotten about this dish till today, when I accidentally read about it on the Internet. It stirred up a longing for the quaint Matheran, for days of lounging around and doing nothing, some quiet time with the OH, and for the lovely food that we gobbled up while on our vacation. We are not in a position to satisfy my wanderlust immediately, but I decided that I could satisfy my craving for the food that we ate in Matheran, though. I made tomato omelette for lunch today, and it completely threw the OH off – it turned out exactly like the one that we had at Matheran.

I read the recipe on several blogs, and finally came up with something that seemed workable for me. Here’s how I made it:

Ingredients (for 2 people):

For the batter

5-6 tablespoons of gram flour (besan)

Salt to taste

2-3 medium-sized tomatoes (finely chopped)

1 medium-sized onion (finely chopped)

A pinch of asafoetida (hing)

1 teaspoon coriander powder

1 teaspoon cumin (jeera) powder

1-2 teaspoons red chilli powder (or according to taste)

1 teaspoon wheat flour/rice flour

Other ingredients

Water, as required

Oil, as required

A bit of fresh coriander (finely chopped)

Method:

1. Mix all the ingredients for the batter together, and run it through the mixer briefly. Place the mixture in a large mixing bowl, and add the required amount of water to bring the batter to the required consistency.

2. Add a bit of finely chopped coriander and mix it in well. (I omitted this, since I was out of coriander.)

3. Heat a dosa tawa, and pour a ladleful of the batter on it. Spread the batter using the ladle (like a dosa), and add a bit of oil around the edge.

4. Let it cook for about a minute and turn it over. Let it cook on the other side as well.

That’s about it! Your tomato omelette is ready to be served. It doesn’t really need any accompanying dish, but it can be served with tomato ketchup.

Simple and fun, isn’t it?

Have you ever had this dish?

44 thoughts on “The omelette with no eggs

  1. Hi, my first time here.
    I was curious about the captions.
    I liked the gram flour based omelette. It is useful for days, when we are not able to eat eggs. My friends calls it tomato omelette šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Hey TGND,

    I tried this one ! šŸ™‚ On friday for dinner and loved the taste. My only improvement needs to be in making the batter a bit thicker coz’ it got runny and I ended up adding more besan and all that and it wasn’t cooking well. So I made really little ones but liked the taste šŸ™‚ I will do a weekend food chronicle post this week and will share the snap. Yay ! I’ll let you knwo when I post ) They don’t look as gorgeous as yours, ofcourse !

    Like

    1. @Kismi

      Oh, I am so glad you could try this one out, and it turned out well. šŸ™‚ So happy you liked it.

      Maybe you could add a bit more rice flour and a little less water the next time? It would help in making the batter thicker, I guess, and easier to spread out on the pan.

      Like

  3. Wow! This looks delicious. I am not much of an “egg eater” but know that a healthy omelet would be a nutritious little meal. I will have to try this!

    Like

  4. Besan ka chilla. We make this and similar ones using different kind of dal and flours. And yes, we add more vegetables to it like finely chopped cabbage, grated carrots to make it even more healthy šŸ™‚

    Like

      1. I don’t use the rice flour though…rest all same šŸ˜€
        Hun gujarati nathi pan mane gujarati avade chey šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜€

        Like

  5. What we do is instead of gram flour, we soak the gram overnight, then grind it coarsely and mix the ingredients.

    Will try this version though. Sounds easy šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Visha

      Is it? I didn’t read about soaking gram anywhere. šŸ˜¦ All the recipes I read used only besan.

      Which gram do you use for this? The small, red chana or the Kabuli chana?

      Do try this out, and I would love to know how it turned out.

      Like

      1. In that case, we must have created a new recipe šŸ˜€

        the one we call chana dal…instead of using the besan, we ‘create’ the besan šŸ˜‰

        Like

  6. My mom made this quite often at home. We call it Chila … the only difference was didn’t add rice/wheat flour and didn’t run it through a mixer. Had made it for Cheebu long back… she didn’t like it much then. Maybe I should try it again on her šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Lifesong

      Yes, the recipes on some blogs didn’t mention running the batter through a mixer, while some others did. I figured that doing that would help me spread the dosas more evenly. šŸ™‚

      You can try it out with garam masala too, instead of the coriander and cumin powders. Hope Cheebu likes it this time around. šŸ™‚

      Like

  7. oh yaa…I ate it for the first time in Mumbai after marriage…R loves this and its once a week dish in her daycare šŸ™‚ I dont make it at home though..but your recipe makes it seem pretty simple..chalo weekend ma try karu chu

    Like

Leave a Reply

