Monkey business, this!

While the OH and I were monkeying around at the Big Banyan Tree near Bangalore over the weekend, we had our fill of laughter and fun watching the antics of the monkeys there. Here are some snapshots from our visit…

I love my kaccha aam, OK?

Sheesh! Dirty gal!

Monkeying with mama

I’m scared!!

Don’t fear when mama is here!

Get off me, I say!

Someone’s handbag has gone for a toss!

Ooh! This is so much fun!!

When mama’s back is turned

Oh, my God!! Are you taking a picture of me?!

I love Fanta, but how do I get this damn thing open?

Layyysssssssss!! Wowie!!

Go green!

28 thoughts on “Monkey business, this!

  1. @Sumitra

    Thank you! πŸ™‚

    I would be happy to help you out.

    ~ The Big Banyan tree takes about 2-2 and 1/2 hours to reach by car from Bangalore. I am not sure about other modes of transport, since we have always gone by car.

    ~ Both of us love the banyan tree, and fall more in love with it every time we visit. There is nothing in the immediate surroundings except the banyan tree, and some people can get bored. So, whether you will love it or not depends largely on you. If you would like to spend some quiet time (not minding the monkeys and the tourists too much) in the company of nature and take some nice pics, this place is for you. πŸ™‚

    ~ It is a lovely spot for a picnic. I myself have many times thought of taking a picnic basket with me, but then it is not a great idea because of the monkeys. It is advisable not to carry anything food-related inside the enclosure. You can leave your belongings in your car.

    ~ There are no good restaurants around the Big Banyan Tree. You have to drive down quite a bit towards Bangalore to find decent food. So make sure you carry food from home and leave it in the car, in case you get hungry on the way back or on reaching there.

    ~ We did not notice any shops selling water nearby. The area can become quite hot in the summer months. So, make sure you carry bottles of water when you visit.

    Like

  2. Awesome! That baby monkey is just too adorable! You know, I’ve been wanting to visit the Banyan tree for a while now. Is it good? How long would it take? Can I take a picnic with me? I’d really appreciate it if you could give me some info.

    Like

  3. Aww, the baby monkey looks just like my baby did when he was first born, another proof for Darwin’s theory πŸ˜›
    And it is a pity about the bottle and lays packets, so many of these animals get suffocated from these and people still do not learn.

    Like

    1. @Chennai Ramblings

      πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Yes, it is a pity that people still haven’t learnt to throw trash in trash cans, which have, so very generously, been provided at 100s of places within the enclosure. But then, on second thoughts, these monkeys pick up bottles and empty chips packets from the trash cans even after visitors have thrown them in. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. That is so so cute! In actual I am quite petrified of monkeys but your snaps are very cute, esp the one where the baby monkey is tightly holding on to the mama πŸ™‚
    Loved the pics and their captions just as much πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Visha

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

      I found these monkeys extremely well-behaved, in the sense that they did not attack visitors. They were only after food, and since we did not have any on us, they didn’t pay us any attention.

      Like

Leave a Reply

