Yellow, yellow, pretty fellow!

Hello, people! How have you been doing? What did you do over the weekend?

We spent most of the weekend driving around on the bike – sometimes on errands and sometimes just aimlessly – and being awed by the yellow flowers in bloom all over the city now. Have you noticed them?

Sigh! Does Bangalore look pretty now or what?!

Of course, we took the camera along and took a HUGE number of snaps of these lovelies. 🙂

At some places, there are so many bunches of flowers on the trees that they appear to be leaf-less. At some places, these trees have formed a yellow canopy, and it is a breath-taking experience just driving below it. I loved watching the way these trees seem to spread a welcome mat of yellow flowers all around them. 🙂

We walked amidst these magnificent trees to our heart’s content, and felt so very close to nature. We realised, for the umpteenth time, that nature is indeed magical.

These flowers have signified summer for me, for the past 3 years that I have lived in Bangalore. To me, they seem to herald not only a change in season,  but also a change in circumstances and in life. They signify new hope to me.

A quick check on Google told me that these trees are called Tabebuia aurea, a native of Brazil. Locally, they are also called the Tree of Gold or Golden Trumpet Tree. Very apt, considering that the flowers indeed resemble little golden trumpets.

I am guessing these trees were also planted as a part of the ‘planned horticulture‘, pioneered by Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV.

Beautiful, aren’t they?

52 thoughts on “Yellow, yellow, pretty fellow!

  1. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    This tree means a lot to me! I had the same tree in my school and the cheerfulness that their sight gives you in indescribable. This was a very difficult of my life and this very tree helped me a lot. Solved a great many dilemmas under it!

    Love the clicks! 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh yes yes how can we not notice the beatiful yellow floers blooming.. I see them while on the way to office, in the campus and everywhere around.. I just loved them as much as you do.. I also have tried to capture them but the pics were not that great as we were in the car.. 🙂

    Lovely capture and hey thanks for letting me know the name of the flowers too!!

    BTW Hv u also noticed some lovely lavender flowers too?? They r lil rare but equally beautiful..

    Like

    1. @Lostinmylittleworld

      Thank you! 🙂

      Oh, yes, I have noticed the purple ones too, and LOVE them too. Love the way they seem to spread a purple carpet below them. Have taken some pics of them too. Hope to post them soon. 🙂

      Like

  3. Beautiful ! 🙂
    I remembered my time at B’lore when I visited/visit cousins and there is a carpet of yellow and sometimes the pink bougainvilla as well 🙂

    Thanks for sharing the snaps. Makes me miss home so much 🙂

    Like

  4. You know.. I keep looking at the flowers.. the pink/lilac ones during jan -feb and now the yellow ones.. and it makes me think of you and the pics on your blog 🙂 And I come here to these today! Lovely!!

    Like

  5. I took new notice at these vibrant flowers after your post..but they aren’t so much in abundance out here..I have also been noticing the purple ones which also in full bloom these days..
    thanks for sharing the wonderful snaps!

    Like

  6. Wow! Truly magical! The pics are a delight to the eye so I can imagine how soothing it must have been to be there soaking in nature’s glory. 🙂

    Like

  7. Hi TGND,

    Sunny, pretty and filled with joy – thats what the flowers are saying 🙂
    Beautiful pics, beautiful flowers 🙂

    Nice way to spend the weekend!!

    We spent the weekend travelling – temple, beach and then a friend’s wedding.

    Good post 🙂

    Like

      1. Yeah, am based in Bangalore..but we had a sudden trip to Guruvayoor in Kerala..and the Snehatheeram beach nearby the temple was simply awesome… Highly recommended 🙂

        There are a number of waterfalls and water-spots around Bangalore..let me know if you need a list… 🙂

        Cheers 🙂

        Like

  8. BEautiful , reminds me of my city, my home that too will be in all bloom probably at this time .. We have two such trees right in front of our house .. Made me miss them ..

    Like

  9. Thanks to Krishnaraja Wodeyar, we get to enjoy these lovelies. I have noticed them in bangalore of course, but I think I never appreciated how very beautiful they are. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

