And I bring to you a lovely potato, my love!

What do you do when, one day before St. Valentine’s, you chance upon a ‘potato heart’ while shopping for groceries?

Why, you buy it, of course! How can you resist the temptation?

And then you take it home and gift it to your husband. And then you ooh and aah over it together.

Then you prop it up on the kitchen counter, and take pics of it. You even arrange some coriander in the backdrop for added effect.

And then you wonder if it is a sign. And you and your husband smile over it.

You are happy at the little bit of magic that brought smiles in the midst of a dull and tiring day.  You see it as a little respite from the dreariness of your daily life.

And then you store it away.

A couple of days later, you stop looking for signs and get busy with life.

You think that, maybe, it was just a co-incidence that you found the heart just before St. Valentine’s.

A fortnight later, you open the refrigerator and find the potato heart looking back at you.

You realise you don’t have the ‘heart’ to cut up and cook this ‘heart’.

You close the refrigerator, finish your morning chores and get ready for work.

Maybe tonight, for dinner?, you tell yourself. And your husband shakes his head, smiles and tut-tuts.

And then, you blog about the whole thing.

*************************************

PS: Please to excuse for the rather corny title. I couldn’t think of anything else. 🙂

31 thoughts on “And I bring to you a lovely potato, my love!

  1. !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I found a Mickey potato a couple of years back- I will probably have to share the picture on my blog and credit you for reminding me of it.

    I would have planted it too 😛

    I didn’t want to cut my Mickey potato and actually went about asking for Formalin.

    !

    Like

      1. Arey, seriously i am going to keep my eyes open for these potatoes now….And as you now know from my post, i made chips from my heart shaped potato (yes, R’s mom i made chips and Zini had them 🙂 )
        So what happened when you planted this potato?

        Like

  2. Sweet story! Would it be better to plant this potato, and grow little baby-heart potatoes, or would it be better to slice it up, cook it, and savor its deliciousness?!

    Like

  3. That is the cutest potato ever 🙂 I don’t blame you for keeping it safe, and not using it up 🙂 And you found it just before Valentine’s day as well! Perfection 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

