7 random facts

Aparna has passed on the Versatile Blogger Award to me, and has tagged me to write 7 random things about myself. Thank you, Aparna! πŸ™‚

So here goes:

  1. I love bright, basic colours like maroon, red, green, blue and brown. Whenever I need to choose clothes – for myself or for others – I commonly lean towards these colours.
  2. Though I am a bookworm, I haven’t read many books that I should have. There is a HUGE gap in my reading that I keep trying to rectify. I haven’t read any Jane Austen or Ayn Rand, and I have missed out on many classics in my childhood.
  3. I do not drive. I have never driven in my life, except learning to ride a bicycle and riding it for a few days to school. Somehow, I have managed to survive without driving thus far, but I can see that I should learn. I might not have it so easy in the times to come.
  4. I love dogs. I would love to have a dog at home, but I have never gotten around to it. We are not sure how to take care of it, as both the OH and I are away from home for almost the entire day.
  5. I chose the Commerce stream over Arts and Science in high school. I post-graduated in Commerce, and was good at it too, academically. Everyone thought I would become a professor. I surprised everyone by deciding to take up writing and editing as a career.
  6. I cannot read and write in my mother tongue, Tamil – a fact that I am not very proud of. I would love to rectify this.
  7. I do not drink alcohol and am a vegetarian by choice. That sometimes does put me in a tight spot at company parties, but I manage.

Phew! That required some DEEP thinking! πŸ™‚

Most of the bloggers I read have already done this tag, so I am not tagging anyone in particular. Do feel free to take it up if it interests you! πŸ™‚

Edited to add on May 24, 2012: The adorable Kismi Toffee Bar also passed on this award to me. Thank you so much, Kismi! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “7 random facts

  1. I am with you on #2,4 and partly on #7 (for never consuming alcohol, though I am a non-vegetarian)
    #6 is pretty unique to me for I have never heard anything like that before
    Glad to know you bit better πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Looking at your reviews on various books you really cannot say that you have not read enough πŸ˜› . Even i havent read much of classics like Jane Austen and Ayn Rand i tried to read several times but just left midway. People say what you have read if you haven’t rad Ayn Rand but the reading is a recreation and passion , you should follow what your eart wants to read πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. @Neha

      Hee hee
      Trust me, I really haven’t read much. I have not even made a small dent in the huge sea of books that I want to read in my life…
      Yes, you should really read what your heart wants to, but you should also keep trying to read outside of your comfort zone. I feel it is one way of growth. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. point 6 is the case with me too and am also a post-grad in commerce although I took up German translations later on as my career..:-)
    It’s always nice to read random things about a fellow-blogger πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Hey, glad that you could take up the tag! IT seems like the whole world and his mother have already done it, isn’t it? πŸ™‚
    Jane austen — one of my fav authors. Ayn Rand – not so much πŸ™‚
    I want to do #6 too! I also want to learn spanish, wonder which one it will be? πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Aparna

      Yes, this tag has been done by most people whose blogs I regularly read. That’s why I didn’t tag anyone in particular.
      I haven’t read any Austen or Ayn Rand, and would like to do so soon.
      Oh, I want to learn a lot of languages, but one part of me thinks I should be perfect in the few I already know – English, Hindi, Gujarati and Tamil. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

