2011 End Of Year Book Survey

I came across this end-of-year book meme at Ann’s Reading Corner, and it sounded like a fun way to sum up all the books I read in 2011. This meme is hosted by The Perpetual Page Turner.

Thank you, Ann and TPPT! 🙂

Here are my responses:

1. Best Book You Read In 2011?

I read a number of good books, but the one I could relate with the most was Elizabeth Noble’s The Girl Next Door, closely followed by Frances Mayes’ Under The Tuscan Sun.

2. Most Disappointing Book/Book You Wish You Loved More Than You Did?

Katie Fforde’s Love Letters. It had all the ingredients that I love – books, a shy heroine, a bookshop, the English countryside, a literary festival, a devilishly handsome author and romance but, sadly, I felt pretty let down by the book.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2011?

Jawaharlal Nehru’s Letters From A Father To His Daughter. I had a feeling it would be extremely difficult to read, but I was pleasantly surprised. I was charmed by the book. I even went on to gift the book to my nephew, and he simply loved it!

4. Book you recommended to people most in 2011?

Nora Roberts’ Bride Quartet – consisting of Vision In White, A Bed Of Roses, Savor The Moment, and Happy Ever After.

5. Best series you discovered in 2011?

Paddington Bear! 🙂

6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2011?

Fannie Flagg, Anthony Capella, Daphne DuMaurier, Nora Roberts and Debbie Macomber, Peter Mayle, Frances Mayes

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier. I have always been skeptical about reading classics. I started with Rebecca, and loved the experience.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2011?

The Bride Quartet, Under The Tuscan Sun, The Girl Next Door, Rebecca

9. Book you most anticipated in 2011?

Caroline Preston’s The Scrapbook Of Frankie Pratt. I fell in love with the book as soon as I had read about it on some book blogs, and couldn’t wait to get my hands on a copy. Of course, the book got read within a few hours of receiving it! 🙂

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2011?

Fannie Flagg’s Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Café. Though I didn’t like the book as much as I had expected to, I simply adored the cover page of the copy I own. And I LOVE the title!

11. Most memorable character in 2011?

Violet from The Girl Next Door. Carter from Vision In White. Mrs. Danvers from Rebecca. And, of course, Paddington Bear! 🙂

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2011?

The Girl Next Door. I loved the sensitivity with which the author has written this book.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2011? 

The Girl Next Door.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2011 to finally read?

Paddington Bear. Letters From A Father To A Daughter. The Secret Garden. Rebecca. I should have read them years ago!

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2011?

There have been too many. Too many to quote. I have included most in my book reviews.

16. Book That You Read In 2011 That Would Be Most Likely To Reread In 2012?

I’m not really a re-reader of books, but I feel I would love to read Ruskin Bond’s Notes From A Small Room again. Some time in life.

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers! 

This happens with every book I read! I have to talk to someone about it, and the OH is usually the scapegoat! 🙂

********************************

That was fun!

Wanna take it up too?

16 thoughts on “2011 End Of Year Book Survey

  1. I remember reading Rebecca a couple of years ago, I really liked it. Later I bought a vintage copy of another book from Daphne du Maurier, but was very disappointed and it took me a long time to finish. Still, Rebecca is a great book. You also have a couple of other interesting sounding books on that list, I will have to check some of them out. Unfortunately I don’t have enough time to read lately.

    Like

    1. @Ann Wengerd

      Yup. I loved doing this meme; it was so much fun. 🙂
      I would love to do it every year; it would be a fun way to recollect all the books that I read over the year!

      Thank you, and wish you a happy 2012 too, full of wonderful books! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

