I am…

4 Jun

…. reading Donia Bijan’s Maman’s Homesick Pie, a book I had wanted to lay my hands on for oh-so-long. Finally, I did. I am quite enjoying the read, too.

…. also reading Adriana Trigiani’s Brava Valentine, the second book in the Valentine series after Very Valentine. I am liking this one as well.

…. craving to taste some chilli-flavoured chocolate. I’ve never had anything like that!

…. also craving for some frozen yoghurt. I used to love the ones from Kiwi Kiss, but I can’t spot their outlets any more in Bangalore. :(

…. desperate to lay my hands on Gabrielle Zevin’s The Storied Life Of AJ Fikry and Luica Weiss’s My Berlin Kitchen: A Love Story (With Recipes). I have heard great things about both these books!

…. disappointed with the behaviour of some sad people. This is nothing new, but still!

…. itching to try out some recipes that I have bookmarked lately, including raw mango daal and chilli soyabean.

…. happy that I finally baked a cake after having craved for so long to do so. A simple lemon cake it was.

…. glad I finally learnt how to make vazhakkai podimas from Amma. That and lemon rasam is on the menu for dinner today.

…. eagerly looking forward to the housewarming ceremony of Amma and Appa’s house this Sunday. Yes, they finally decided on a house, and got it registered!

…. faced with a huge ideas’ block regarding my next freelance project. Gulp!

…. trying to zero in on the saree that I want to wear for the griha pravesam this Sunday.

….  about to harvest the mint plants in our house that badly need harvesting.

…. thinking of making paani poori using the said mint.

What have you guys been up to?

17 Responses to “I am…”

  1. Bikramjit June 4, 2014 at 3:38 pm #

    GO for iiiittt and make that pani puri..

    I have been upto nothing .. just the same as usual..

    • The Girl Next Door June 5, 2014 at 4:37 am #

      @Bikramjit

      Yes, yes, looks like the paani poori will indeed get made. :)

      He he he he

  2. vishalbheeroo June 4, 2014 at 5:14 pm #

    lolz chilli flavored choco..hehe enjoyed the sneak peak bout u!

    • The Girl Next Door June 5, 2014 at 4:38 am #

      @Vishalbheeroo

      Thanks!

      Ummm.. what’s so funny about the chocolate?!

      • vishalbheeroo June 5, 2014 at 1:48 pm #

        hmm ive never heard bout chilli flavored and myself a huge self confessed choco fan. I’m dying to come to India and spend time at The Chocolate Room, btw:)

      • The Girl Next Door June 5, 2014 at 2:08 pm #

        @Vishalbheeroo

        Arre, even I recently came to know that there’s something like chilli-flavoured chocolate. I am dying to try some out myself. :) I saw some at Bliss, Forum, last week, and that has triggered an even intense desire to get my hands on it.

        The Chocolate Room is a lovely place!

  3. popgoesthebiscuit June 5, 2014 at 2:15 am #

    Awesome! Now I am really waiting to hear / see the sari you pick to wear for the occasion!

    • The Girl Next Door June 5, 2014 at 4:24 am #

      @Popgoesthebiscuit

      I think I will wear a simple bandhani saree re.. please don’t expect too much. :)

  4. R's Mom June 5, 2014 at 3:25 am #

    I loved Brava Valentina :)

    Show us the saree okay?

    and now I want pani puri..gah!

    • The Girl Next Door June 5, 2014 at 4:23 am #

      @R’s Mom

      I’ll make paani poori for you when you visit me. :D :D

  5. greenboochi June 5, 2014 at 6:15 am #

    First things first – Did you make the pani puri? Also the podimas and lemon rasam? My mouth is watery only with the mention of these names :D

    Wow you have mint plants – how nice! How did you plant them TGND? I harvested my methi leaves and made methi dal. Now coriander has just started to come up :) Until I see the proper shoot, I am not going to believe it :)

    I am going to read Very Valentine soon :)

    My heartiest congrats to your parents :)

    I have an engagement function to attend to, in Chennai :) My brain has been working overtime zeroing in on the saree :D

    I still havent baked that cake I had been dying to bake – not sure when it will happen :)

    • The Girl Next Door June 5, 2014 at 7:15 am #

      @Greenboochi

      No, haven’t made the paani pooris yet, but definitely plan to. :) Yes, I did make the vazhakkai podi and lemon rasam yesterday – the OH loved them. :)

      I bought the mint plant from a nursery, and it has multiplied over time. For me, coriander plants never seem to grow. :(

      Thanks for the best wishes. Will surely pass them on to my parents.

      I hope you enjoy Very Valentine!

  6. ashreyamom June 5, 2014 at 11:27 am #

    congrats to ur parents on new house.. so u r not helping them with the preparation?? take photos of the house and upload.. :)

    • The Girl Next Door June 5, 2014 at 12:02 pm #

      @Ashreyamom

      Thank you! :)

      Of course, I am helping them with the preparations. In fact, I have taken on all the preparations myself. My parents don’t even know their way around Bangalore. :)

      Will try to upload pics of the new house.

  7. aish August 5, 2014 at 2:46 am #

    I read a couple of your posts , very interesting .I am from b’lore born + brought up.
    I could not gather if you are working professional or not but I found it interesting that you are so at peace with your hubby , ILs and parents .
    I am an only child but I never got that chance ..I was an unwanted child brought up grandparents for 5 years , upper middle class family..but my only purpose was to raise the prestige and status by doing BE course and getting a job in an MNC ..after arranged marriage when I came (USA) here and quit working I was disowned after I was pressurized almost into suicide , for not working ,by my parents …they never paid a paisa for my education I got in thru merit and everything was taken care by my grandparents !!

    Now they are gone I have a daughter but the world feels empty..

    so for me its strange this happiness you have, in the city of my upbringing …GOOD FOR YOU :-)

    • The Girl Next Door August 5, 2014 at 3:49 am #

      @Aish

      Thank you so much for your comment. I am sorry you had to go through all that in your life.

      I have been through quite a few challenges in life, too. All has not always been rosy, but I choose not to share everything on my blog. That said, I have chosen to make peace with everything that life has offered me so far.

      Hope you find peace and happiness soon, too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The seven types of guests at a griha pravesam | The Girl Next Door - June 10, 2014

    […] the parents held the griha pravesam ceremony for their house last Sunday. There were some glitches, and there were some beautiful moments, too. Overall, the […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

