And I join the bandwagon too…

20 Dec

What bandwagon, you ask? Well, The Kindle bandwagon. :)

This morning, when I woke, I found a parcel wrapped in shiny red paper near my pillow, with a note stuck on it, along with a bright red gerbera daisy. Apparently, the in-house Santa had an early Christmas gift for me, which he claimed I would love. I opened the parcel to find a brand new Amazon Kindle Paperwhite, all mine.

We had been debating whether to buy a Kindle or not, for quite some time. I had been swinging between ‘I want one’ and ‘I don’t think I would like one’ for a long time. It looks like someone got tired of the constant back-and-forth. :)

At the moment, I have mixed feelings about being the owner of this super-sleek piece of technology.

I am excited by the possibilities it opens up for me – I can now read a romance on a beach or a fantasy tale sitting under a tree in a garden. I could do that with a physical book, too, but I never seemed to have the right book with me while I travelled. Now, I can carry my library with me wherever I go, and choose appropriately. Not to forget the fact that I don’t have to wait a fortnight for the books that I order to appear at my doorstep, and the prices of certain books that I want to read are far more reasonable for a Kindle version than a physical copy.

I am a bit overwhelmed, too – I still don’t know the ins and outs of the device, and if you know me, you know that I am hopeless with technology. The Kindle feels different when I hold it in my hands, as if I am holding something that is not mine. I need time to get used to it, I guess. In a little corner of my heart, I feel like a traitor, too – a traitor of papery, sweet-smelling physical books.

Luckily, the husband understands my sentiments and is helping me settle in with the new addition to my bedside bookshelf. Most likely, I will go on a downloading spree over the weekend, getting hold of all those books I always wanted to read but never did because I didn’t want to go bankrupt.

Wish me luck as I journey on this new path as a reader, will you please? I hope the Kindle will add new dimensions to my reading, help me grow as one, and make me embrace it, totally. I hope I soon have wonderful experiences to share with all of you, starring the Kindle.

34 Responses to “And I join the bandwagon too…”

  1. kismitoffeebar December 20, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    WHeeeee and woohoo and yay and yappity yoo! Welcome welcome :) We can share some books too :) I really hope you enjoy it. The love for paper and books will never fade away. This is just about facilitating access to more books, that’s all. In no way has my reading of physical books reduced :)

    • The Girl Next Door December 21, 2013 at 6:18 am #

      @Kismitoffeebar

      You assuage my guilty soul a bit. :) Hope I get used to reading physical books and the Kindle together.

      We can share books?! How?

      Thank you! :)

      • kismitoffeebar December 21, 2013 at 9:33 am #

        Some books in mobi I have on my MacBook. I can email it to you. E.g the sense of an ending :)

      • The Girl Next Door December 21, 2013 at 10:51 am #

        @Kismitoffeebar

        Oh, okay, that way. Sure, send it across. :)

      • kismitoffeebar December 21, 2013 at 11:03 am #

        There is also a way by which we can borrow and all. Do you have an Amazon account already?

      • The Girl Next Door December 21, 2013 at 11:05 am #

        @Kismitoffeebar

        Yes, I do!

  2. HC007 December 20, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    Have a look at this site – http://www.kebooks.com for daily free kindle books list. You’ll be surprised how many good books are available free of cost to download on a daily basis. Make sure to read reviews on the Amazon website before you download. Free books still need an investment of your time which is precious :)

    • The Girl Next Door December 21, 2013 at 6:17 am #

      @HC007

      Thank you for the information. This is going to be useful!

  3. Vidya December 20, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    How more christmasy can it get,TGND?!!! :D
    Very thoughtful of your OH.
    Happy downloading over this weekend ;)

  4. freakyveggie December 20, 2013 at 5:50 pm #

    Wow, a wonderful gift! You are going to love it, have fun :-)

  5. scribblehappy December 21, 2013 at 5:13 am #

    Such a sweetheart your in-house Santa is!

    I totally relate to your mixed feelings–I have been in two minds about a Kindle myself for quite some time. Tell us how you like it a couple of months down the line–that will help me make up my mind, hopefully !

    • The Girl Next Door December 21, 2013 at 6:13 am #

      @Scribblehappy

      He is a sweetheart all right! :)

      Sure, I will definitely write about my experiences with the Kindle.

  6. Laavanya December 21, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    Welcome to Kindle land! XD

    I was so vehemently anti-Kindle; and then I discovered it. And I love it; but that doesn’t mean I don’t not read paper books. They both work. :)

    • The Girl Next Door December 22, 2013 at 5:11 am #

      @Laavanya

      I can’t imagine not ever reading paper books, too. I hope I find a way to make both work simultaneously – paper books and the Kindle.

      Thank you! :)

  7. Suko December 22, 2013 at 12:06 am #

    Congratulations! It’s certainly a good way to combat (book) clutter in the home. I hope you will enjoy it. (I do not have one, but use my iPad mini as an eReader from time to time.) :)

  8. Swaram December 22, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    Wishing u fall in love with it very soon :) Its awesome to carry a whole library with you while on vacation!:)

    • The Girl Next Door December 23, 2013 at 5:18 am #

      @Swaram

      I’m already in love with it. Am loving reading on the Kindle. :)

  9. R's Mom December 23, 2013 at 3:52 am #

    Woohooo! super congrats…tell the in-house Santa he is super cute :) Hope you enjoy reading in the kindle

  10. HappyFeet December 23, 2013 at 4:15 am #

    Would you believe me when I say I got a kindle too, just a couple of weeks ago? :)
    And that, as a gift from the bestie who got hitched last month! Makes it even better :)

    • The Girl Next Door December 23, 2013 at 5:19 am #

      @HappyFeet

      Your bestie got hitched, and she gave you a present?! Super only! :D

      Our lives do seem to run parallel, no? :)

  11. ashreyamom December 23, 2013 at 9:24 am #

    wow.. super gift.. now treat time… :)..

  12. Veens December 24, 2013 at 2:13 am #

    You have the bestest Santa of all times :D Now, cheer up and look at ALLL THE POSSIBILITIES! I can tell you, you are going to LOVEEEEE it :D I am so giddy for you **rubbing my hands in anticipation of what i could do with that kind of present**

    • The Girl Next Door December 24, 2013 at 5:13 am #

      @Veens

      I am already in love with it. :)

      • Veens December 24, 2013 at 5:31 am #

        I knew :)

  13. charukesi December 29, 2013 at 7:29 am #

    I thought I’d never ever read on a kindle – but hey, now I find it so convenient (not to mention how much cheaper ebooks are!). Wishing you lots of new discoveries in the coming year. Welcome to the world of kindle :)

  14. girlinjammies January 1, 2014 at 12:09 pm #

    Happy Reading on kindle TGND. I have for long resisted the offers to buy me a Kindle and am still doing it for the love of paperbacks. But wonder how long can I continue considering everyone is switching to Kindle and it makes more sense in terms of space and money too. Would love to hear your opinion after a few days of usage.

    • The Girl Next Door January 2, 2014 at 4:25 am #

      @Girljammies

      I am loving the experience, I can tell you that. :) A Kindle cannot replace paper books, but it sure expands your reading in a lot of ways.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Kindle and me | The Girl Next Door - April 3, 2014

    […] excited as I was to receive a Kindle as a gift from the OH last year, I was skeptical too. I have always loved paper books, and I felt like I would be doing […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 340 other followers

