The voice

18 Dec

All the day’s chores done, I lie on the sofa in our living room, with my feet up, watching TV with the OH.

Suddenly, I hear a voice. It is the voice of a tough-as-bricks lady, who takes nonsense from no one.

‘Saumensch,’ it tells me.

I jump.

‘Saumensch’ – there’s that voice again. This time, I realise the voice is inside me, in my head. Rosa Hubermann.

I relax immediately and smile.

The OH asks what is wrong with me.

‘This is what happens when a book gets under your skin, creeps up your veins, and crawls into your brain,’ I tell him.

He gives me the oh-that-dotty-wife-of-mine expression.

‘You should read The Book Thief, too. It will crawl into your brain, too,’ I tell him.

**************************

This is non-fiction, starring the OH and me. For those of you who did not get the reference, please click on the link in the post.

20 Responses to “The voice”

  1. greenboochi December 18, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    I can relate! I can relate!

    Will somehow get the book soon :)

    • The Girl Next Door December 18, 2013 at 8:27 am #

      @Greenboochi

      It is a wonderful book. Hope you get to read it soon. :)

  2. cupitonians December 18, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    That does it, this book is going to be on 2014 book reading list!

    • The Girl Next Door December 18, 2013 at 8:27 am #

      @Cupitonians

      Yay! It is a wonderful book. I’m sure you’ll love it.

  3. Swaram December 18, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    :)

  4. R's Mom December 18, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    Okay am searching for this one :)

    • The Girl Next Door December 18, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

      @R’s Mom

      You should totally read it. I bet you’ll love it, too. :)

  5. kismitoffeebar December 19, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    I love it when that happens. I dreamed of Parnassus last :) Sometimes, I just wake up from a dream and look for a character from a book – I love that feeling. I always go back to sleep with a smile :)

    • The Girl Next Door December 19, 2013 at 11:35 am #

      @Kismitoffeebar
      :)

      That happened to me, too. I dreamt of Aurangzeb and Jahannara when I was reading Shadow Princess, in all their regal splendour. :)

  6. Arch December 20, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    Oh wow! Everyone around is recommending this book! I gotta get it!

  7. Veens December 24, 2013 at 2:25 am #

    Did you read Sarah’s Keys? ANother one I would really want you to read (like shake you up, and tell you to seriously read it now – kind of want)! Seriously, I cannot tell you how i felt while reading it and long after it too!

    • The Girl Next Door December 24, 2013 at 5:14 am #

      @Veens

      No, I haven’t read Sarah’s Key yet. I have heard a lot of good things about the book, though, and your praise for it makes me want to pick it up immediately. :)

      • Veens December 24, 2013 at 5:31 am #

        No kidding, wait I think I have the ebook, gimme sometime and I will smuggle it to u if I can find it lol

      • The Girl Next Door December 24, 2013 at 5:32 am #

        @Veens

        Sure! Sounds good. Search search! :D

      • Veens December 24, 2013 at 5:34 am #

        Sure wait till evening, need to get to pc to search

  8. girlinjammies January 1, 2014 at 12:11 pm #

    I am currently reading it too. It is captivating :)

    • The Girl Next Door January 2, 2014 at 4:26 am #

      @Girlinjammies

      Yes, it is a fantastic read – so sensitively written! I will be finishing it in a bit. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2013 End Of Year Book Survey | The Girl Next Door - December 31, 2013

    […] would have said The Book Thief, but I still haven’t finished […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 338 other followers

